Sunday, January 21, 2018

Jaggernauth shines in trial match

Veteran offspinner Amit Jaggernauth set up an easy ten-wicket win for his team—the Denesh Ramdin XI—on the final day of their three-day trial match against a Rayad Emrit XI at the National Cricket Centre, Balmain, Couva, yesterday.

The 29-year-old Jaggernauth, who last represented Trinidad and Tobago in the four-day arena in 2011, took four for 26 from 16 overs with five maidens to help dismiss the Emrit XI for 124 in their second innings on the final day of the match.

Set 76 to win off the remaining 26 overs of the game, Isaiah Rajah slapped 40 off 33 balls with two sixes and four fours and Steven Katwaroo smashed one six and two fours in a 33-ball 32 to bring home the victory in 10.5 overs.

Jaggernauth got the key wickets of Gibran Mohammed for a top-score of 29, Evin Lewis for 21 and Ewart Nicholson for 11 to wreck the Emrit XI innings.

Also among the wickets were left-arm spinner Akeal Hosein, who grabbed two for 40 from 19 overs, and Dane Teelucksingh, who took two for 14 from eight overs. Pacers Teshawn Castro (one for 21) and Tevin Robertson (one for 23) were also successful with the ball.

Left-arm pacer Robertson got Justin Guillen, caught behind by Steven Katwaroo for one in the first over of the innings, while Castro sent back Mark Deyal for seven in the second over.

Earlier yesterday, Ramdin's team, continuing their first innings from an overnight position of 317 for six, took their lead past 50 with Castro falling one short of a half-century before Jaggernauth came to the fore to put his team on course for victory.

Summarised Scores:

Rayad Emrit XI 282 all out (93 overs) (Imran Khan 63, Khary Pierre 48; Akeal Hosein 4/109, Amit Jaggernauth 2/79) & 124 all out (50 overs) (Gibran Mohammed 29, Imran Khan 27, Evin Lewis 21; Amit Jaggernauth 4/26, Dane Teelucksingh 2/14, Akeal Hosein 2/40) vs Denesh Ramdin XI 334 all out (96.2 overs) (Vikash Mohan 94, Denesh Ramdin 54, Jason Mohammed 49, Teshawn Castro 49; Imran Khan 2/34, Ansil Bhaggan 2/49, Rayad Emrit 2/71, Sanjiv Gooljar 2/82) & 75/0 (10.5 overs) (Isaiah Rajah 40 n.o., Steven Katwaroo 32 n.o.)--Ramdin XI won by 10 wkts