Sunday, January 21, 2018

Jamaica hoping to halt Barbados juggernaut


Jamaica will attempt to thwart rampant Barbados’ charge towards yet another title, when they two teams meet in the semi-final of the Headley/Weekes Trophy here today. More importantly, the Jamaicans will look to salvage their Regional first class season which saw them uncharacteristically finish fourth in the WICB President’s Trophy, and secure their spot in the final four of the Headley/Weekes Trophy only in the last preliminary round of matches last week.

They started the competition strongly, winning their first two matches but then capitulated to lose three in a row and find themselves in fifth spot in the standings, and in danger of missing out on the semi-finals. Jamaica captain Tamar Lambert said their victory in the last round over Combined Campuses and Colleges, however, had given his side good impetus going into the semi-final at Kensington Oval.

When the two sides met during the regular season, it was Barbados who prevailed, with a convincing 245-run victory at Sabina Park. Lambert admits Jamaica’s batting has let them down this season. Carlton Baugh has been their leading batsman with 367 runs at average of 45 and though Nkrumah Bonner (326) and opener John Campbell (319) have both scored over 300 runs, they have averaged less than 28.

Barbados, meanwhile, will be looking to add the Headley/Weekes Trophy to their impressive collection this season. They opened the year by capturing the Regional Super50 and followed up last week by winning the WICB President’s Trophy. The hosts lost their opening game of the series to Windward Islands but then played unbeaten and captain Kraigg Brathwaite likes his side’s form heading into the semi-finals.


BARBADOS (from): Kraigg Brathwaite (captain), Sulieman Benn, Carlos Brathwaite, Jonathan Carter, Roston Chase, Miguel Cummins, Shane Dowrich, Fidel Edwards, Kirk Edwards, Shai Hope, Ashley Nurse, Omar Phillips, Kevin Stoute.

JAMAICA (from): Tamar Lambert (captain), Carlton Baugh Jr, Jermaine Blackwood, Nkrumah Bonner, Brian Buchanan, John Campbell, Dave Bernard Jr, Sheldon Cottrell, Damion Jacobs, Andre McCarthy, Nikita Miller, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor.