Saturday, February 24, 2018

Kallicharan to skipper T&T U-15s


CAPTAIN: Kirstan Kallicharan

Mark Fraser

East Zone’s Kirstan Kallicharan will lead the Trinidad and Tobago Under-15 team for the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) Regional Under-15 championships in Jamaica next month.

Kallicharan was named captain of the national team after leading East to victory in the BG T&T InterZone Under-13 and Under-15 tournaments earlier this month.

He will have Central Zone’s Saiba Battoosingh as his deputy for the regional tournament, which takes place in Jamaica from July 10-26.

The national side has a varied bowling attack, which features three pacers in Amrit Kistow, Sachin Seecharan and Nathanial McDavid.

Emillo Gopaul is the left-arm spinner in the side with the skipper and Aaron Mairam both bowling leg-spin and Battoosingh providing a reliable off-spin option.

Defending champions for the tournament are Barbados, who topped the round robin competition in St Kitts/Nevis last year.

T&T U-15 Squad: Kirstan Kallicharan (captain), Saiba Battoosingh (vice captain), Crystian Thurton, Emillo Gopaul, Joel Sutherland, Aaron Sinanan, Simeon Ramjattan, Amrit Kistow, Keagan Simmons, Nathanial McDavid, Sachin Seecharan, Leonardo Julien, Aaron Mairam, Omarley James; Anthony Ramjit (manager), Glen Dwarika (coach), Gerald Garcia (trainer).