Friday, January 19, 2018

Kieran Powell to lead Leewards in Super50

 West Indies opener Kieran Powell has been named as captain of the Leeward Islands for the upcoming NAGICO Super50 Tournament.

The 23-year-old left-hander, who led West Indies A on the One-Day tour of India last year, will have livewire wicket-keeper Devon Thomas as his vice-captain.

The Leeward Islands Cricket Association announced the squad yesterday, which also includes several experienced players—leg-spinner Anthony Martin, allrounder Justin Athanaze, and fast bowlers Gavin Tonge and Lionel Baker—who were members of the victorious 2010 team.

There is also a call-up for Mali Richards, the son of legend Sir Vivian Richards. Mali, 30, is a stylish middle-order batsman. He was impressive during the recent Leewards training camp in St Kitts.

The Leewards have been drawn in Zone B alongside home team Trinidad and Tobago, Barbados, and Combined Campuses & Colleges. Their opening match is on Saturday against CCC.

The NAGICO Super50 tournament will run from January 30 to February 15 and will be broadcast live on ESPN for television viewers and on Caribbean Super Station radio. Matches at Queen’s Park Oval will be day/night fixtures while matches at Shaw Park, Tobago will be day games.

The champions will take home the Clive Lloyd Trophy—named in honour of the legendary captain of the 1975 and 1979 World Cup winning teams.

LEEWARDS SQUAD: Kieran Powell (Captain), Devon Thomas (Vice captain/wicket-keeper), Justin Athanaze, Lionel Baker, Quinton Boatswain, Rahkeem Cornwall, Jahmar Hamilton (wicket-keeper), Montcin Hodge, Sylvester Joseph, Anthony Martin, Mali Richards, Gavin Tonge, Hayden Walsh, Kelbert Walters

Reserves: Lyndel Richardson, Yannick Leonard, Orlando Peters