SPORTING EXCELLENCE: Mark London, left, receives his award from Tobago House of Assembly (THA) Chief Secretary Orville London.


London, Wright cop THA Chief Secretary awards

Carifta champions Mark London and Andwuelle Wright were among the winners of the Chief Secretary awards for excellence in Sports for 2013. London won boys under 20 800m and 1500m titles at this year’s Carifta Games in the Bahamas and collected the award for the second year.
The Bishops High School graduate was also a recipient of the award in 2010 when he captured the boys under-17 1500m and 3000m races in the Cayman Islands. The award is the second for London within the month, as he was honoured with the Sport and Wellness Award at the Department of Youths Tobago Youth Awards in November.
Wright picked up his first award after winning back-to-back boys under-17 long jump Carifta titles. The Signal Hill Secondary fifth form student also represented Trinidad and Tobago at the World Youth (under 18) Track and Field Championships in Donetsk, Urkraine in July.
Other sporting personalities recognised were national table tennis stars Jasher De Gannes and Derron Douglas and their coach Dexter Abbott. Also coming in for commendation was young golfer Samuel Cudjoe.
De Gannes was the youngest member of the national senior table tennis team that competed at the Caribbean Championships in St Lucia. The 13-year-old Bishops High School student returned home with a silver medal. Meanwhile, Douglas won the national under-11 singles titles. Cudjoe became the first Tobagonian to win a four-year scholarship to Hank Haney International Golf Academy in the US.
The Awards are held to recognise persons and groups for their contribution to society over the last year in several fields including culture, sports and entrepreneurship. The ceremony took place at the Victor E Bruce Financial Complex last week.
Academics: Shelemiah Peterkin, Dhwane Henry, and Lemuel Phillip
Community Work: Sheriff Tobias
Entrepreneurship: Renesia George
Sports-Derron Douglas, Jasher DeGannes, Samuel Cudjoe, Dexter Abbott, Andiouelle Wright, and Mark London.
Health: Roxanne Moore-Seaforth received an award for Health;
Culture: NCLB Buccooneers.
This content requires the latest Adobe Flash Player and a browser with JavaScript enabled. Click here for a free download of the latest Adobe Flash Player.

Express Poll

Are you experiencing the benefits of the $1 billion worth in water projects since 2010?

  • Yes
  • No

Newsletter Sign Up

Subscribe to our FREE Digital Divide Newsletter.
To subscribe enter your email address
For Email Marketing you can trust


More Weather