Saturday, February 24, 2018

Mahabir takes over SSCL presidency

Former Trinidad and Tobago cricketer, Surujdath Mahabir was elected as the new president of the Secondary Schools Cricket League (SSCL), at the league’s Annual General Meeting, yesterday.

Mahabir replaced Sonnylal Sookoo for the top post, winning 41 votes to Sookoo’s 31.

Sharaz Mohammed defeated Anastasia Griffith 59-20 for the post of first vice president, while Amin Forgenie beat Shane Lutchman 40-38 for the post of second vice president.

The other executive officers were returned unopposed. Germaine Gray returned as general secretary, with Nigel Maraj back as first assistant secretary, Dudnath Nagessar as second assistant secretary, Wesley Dookhoo as treasurer and Ravindra Ramnanan as public relations officer.

The new president said the SSCL is still undecided in terms of who it will support for the upcoming T&T Cricket Board (TTCB) elections, which will take place at the TTCB AGM later this month.

The T&T Cricket Umpires and Scorers Association has also elected a new president in Parasram Singh, who takes over from Lalman Kowlessar, who demitted office after serving a maximum three two-year terms. 

Singh won the presidency, ahead of South Zone’s Narace Singh, while East Zone’s David Hunte took the post of vice president.

North Zone’s John Lewis defeated South Zone’s Ann-Marie Charles for the post of secretary, while Shahid Allaham was elected unopposed to the post of treasurer.

The SSCL and the Umpires Association have two votes each at the TTCB elections.