Monday, January 22, 2018

Mahase is PSCL player of year

Kieron Pollard Scholarship launched


SEASONíS BEST: Youngster Andy Mahase receives the award for the Atlantic National Primary Schools Cricket League Player of the Year from Minister of Education Tim Gopeesingh, right, and Atlantic CEO Nigel Darlow at the Atlantic tenth anniversary National Primary School Cricket awards ceremony on Thursday evening at Hilton Trinidad, St Annís. óPhoto: CURTIS CHASE

Mark Fraser

Andy Mahase, whose average during the competition was over 100 runs and who skippered the Cuna­ripo Presbyterian Primary School to the 2013 Boys’ title, was named the 2013 Atlantic National Primary Schools Cricket League Player of the Year Thursday evening at the Hilton Trinidad, St Ann’s.

The Atlantic company hosted the awards ceremony, which also celebrated the tenth anniversary of the National Primary Schools Cricket League with four of their five brand ambassadors, including Olympic and World Championship medallist, swimmer George Bovell, Olympic sailor Andrew Lewis, West Indies cricketers Kieron Pollard and Merissa Aguillera in attendance. Top West Indies spinner Sunil Narine sent a video message from Dominica where he is part of the Trinidad and Tobago team preparing for the Champions League Twenty20 tournament that starts on September 17.

Mahase was first named as one of the top five players of the 2013 league. The list also included his teammate, Dillon Partap (Cunaripo Presbyterian Primary School), Aaron Rodney (St Mary’s Government Primary School), Alysha Gomez Talparo RC Primary School) and Tenisha Pada­rath (Point Fortin ASJA Primary School).

Talparo RC Primary School claimed the Girls title this year.

Atlantic vice-president corporate operations Caroline Toni Sirju-Ramnarine announced a new initiative, as her company celebrates the ten-year landmark as main sponsor of the league.

“It is our pleasure today to announce yet another milestone in our ongoing quest to give young people every possible opportunity to succeed. This initiative allows us to build on our Atlantic Sports Ambassador Programme to give tangible support and public endorsement of our young players’ potential. This evening, we are pleased to stand with our Atlantic Sports Ambassador, Kieron Pollard as we launch the Atlantic Kieron Pollard Scholarship—an initiative of Kieron’s which will enable promising young cricketers to benefit from some of the same professional and life experiences which he was fortunate to have early in his career. Very shortly, Kieron will tell you more about this fantastic scholarship programme, which Atlantic is very pleased to be a part of,” she said.

Atlantic CEO Nigel Darlow said the growth in participation has led to children’s advancement into other spheres of the sport.

“Over the past decade, we have watched thousands of boys and girls, just like you, step onto the cricket field, to represent your schools. Some would go on to represent not just Trinidad and Tobago, but also the West Indies.” Darlow cited 15 names, among them Stephen Katwaroo, who represented the WI at Under-19 level. “But,” he added, “even those players who did not go on to represent their country would have no doubt enjoyed the many benefits gained by playing sport and meeting new people.”

Darlow said the league restructured two years ago so as to maxi­mise the level of competition among schools and as the sponsor of the National Primary Schools Cricket League, Atlantic “sees it as our responsibility to keep adding value to our involvement”.

At his turn at the mike, Pollard said that he “was blessed to have opportunities presented to me and that is why I am passionate about helping the next generation of great cricketers reach their full potential, achieve their goals and perhaps have the honour to represent the country and the region”.

Honour Roll

Player of the Year:

• Andy Mahase, Cunaripo Presbyterian

Top five players: 

• Andy Mahase - Cunaripo Presbyterian Primary School 

• Dillon Partap - Cunaripo Presbyterian Primary School 

• Aron Rodney -   St. Mary’s Government Primary School 

• Alysha Gomez - Talparo RC Primary School 

• Tenisha Padarath - Point Fortin ASJA Primary School 

Girls’ district winners:

• Port of Spain district - Petit Valley Girls’ RC Primary School. 

• St George East district - Talparo RC Primary School. 

• North Eastern district - Cunaripo Presybyterian Primary School. 

• Tobago - Mason Hall Government Primary School. 

• Caroni district - Longdenville Government Primary School. 

• Victoria district - Rochard Douglas Primary School. 

• St Patrick district - Point Fortin ASJA Primary School. 

• South Eastern district - Moruga RC Primary School. 

• 2013 Girls Atlantic National Primary School League winners - Talparo RC Primary School. 

• Runner’s up - Mason Hall Government Primary School

Media awards:

• Best Coverage - Print - Stephon Nicholas, Newsday. 

• Best Coverage - Electronic - Astil Renn, CNC3. 

Outstanding contribution and dedication to National Primary Schools Cricket League:

• Anthony Ramjit         

• Glen Dwarika 

• Bachan Boochoon 

• Benjamin Santoo 

• John Lewis 

• Joyce Ismael 

• Rhonda Jones