Wednesday, February 21, 2018

Merry Boys in front in Premier Div

Merry Boys took the lead in the Premier Division two-day competition yesterday after beating Munroe Road by 190 runs in their third round match at Diego Martin Recreation Ground, while the key game between defending champions PowerGen and Queen’s Park Cricket Club ended in a draw.

Merry Boys were one of only two outright victors in round three. The other winners on the weekend were Alescon Comets who beat Jenexcon Tableland by five wickets in Tableland.

All other matches were affected by rain.

In Diego Martin, Aneil Kanhai scored a second innings half century to lead Merry Boys to 221 for three declared, which gave Munroe Road a victory target of 281.

Ricky Jaipaul then grabbed seven for 27 to dismiss Munroe Road for 91 in the second innings.

At Syne Village, PowerGen scraped to a draw against the Parkites, closing the second day yesterday on 78 for nine to earn a share of the points.

They were dismissed for 97 in their first innings and Queen’s Park made 200 for six declared to earn first innings points.

In another drawn match this weekend, Guyanese batsman Trevon Griffith slammed 124 to give Esmeralda a first innings lead over First Citizens Clarke Road while CLICO Preysal took clinched first innings points against Moosai Sports.

Summarised scores

At Tableland

Jenexcon Tableland 161 & 135 (Brent Harriot 54, Stephen Taylor 40; Devindra Krishna 3/45, Richard Kelly 2/3) vs Alescon Comets 135 & 162-5 (Richard Kelly 45, Kadesh Samlalsingh 26)

–Comets won by five wickets

At Diego Martin Recreation Ground

Merry Boys 175 (59.4 overs) (Amir Jangoo 51, Atiba Allert 51 n.o.; Richard Rojas 5/39) & 221-3 dec (Mario Belcon 53, Amir Jangoo 40, Jetendra Sookdeo 54 n.o., Aneil Kanhai 50; Nishal Gayadeen 2/86) vs Munroe Road Cricket Club 115 (40.4 overs) (Kieron Joseph 25, Mahandra Nagamootoo 34; Aneil Kanhai 5/15, Atiba Allert 3/29) & 91 (Michael Harry 33, Mahendra Nagamootoo 26; Ricky Jaipaul 7/27)

–Merry Boys won by 190 runs

At Bamboo Recreation Ground

Caldrac Club 270 (65.2 overs) (Sharmarh Brooks 121, Mark Deyal 54; Selvin Jacobs 5/104) & 30-1 vs Seenath’s Auto Bamboo Sports 240 (83.4 overs) (Krishna Arjune 80, Ryan Ramasray 43, Nashwan Latchman 38; Allen Laurent 4/41, Dane Teelucksingh 4/60, Ancil Nedd 2/79)

–Match Drawn, Caldrac won first innings points

At Inshan Ali Park

Moosai Sports 182 (72.2 overs) (Jonathan Cabralis 47, Anthony Simmons 40 n.o.; Bryan Charles 4/39, Uthman Mohammad 3/45) & 20-1 vs CLICO Preysal 220 (Miguel Nedd 70, Videsh Sookhai 48; Adrian Geeban 3/18, Namir Suepaul 3/43, Jed Yearwood 2/19)

–Match Drawn, Preysal won first innings points

Esmeralda Recreation Ground

First Citizens Clarke Road 192 (54 .1 overs) (Adrian Ali 67, Ranga Lachana 34, Nicholas Pooran 30; Kerwyn Sirju 6/47) & 26-0 vs Esmeralda Sports 289 (Trevon Girffith 124, D’Andrade 44; Yannick Ottley 3/41, Derone Davis 3/39, Kissoondath Magram 2/84)

–Match Drawn, Esmeralda won first innings points

At Syne Village

PowerGen Penal Sports 97 (Rajindra Chandrika 58 n.o., Akiel Cooper 19; Amit Jaggernauth 7/22, Fidel Edward 2/20) & 78-9 (Nicholas Sookdeosingh 47; Fidel Edwards 4/23, Amit Jaggernauth 3/20, Khary Pierre 2/16) vs QPCC 200-6 dec (Daron Cruckshank 83, Justin Guillen 37; Sherwin Ganga 2/75, Varoon Samaraoo 2/32)

–Match Drawn, QPCC won first innings points