Monday, February 19, 2018

Merry Boys take lead against PowerGen

Merry Boys pacer Atiba Allert stunned PowerGen on the first day of their Shang­hai Construction Ltd (SCG) Premier Division clash at Syne Village in Penal yester­day to lead his team to first-innings points.

The pacer, who came in at num­ber ten, did not rattle the champs with his pace but instead shocked them with his power-hitting as he smashed six fours and four sixes in a top score of 61 off 37 balls to lift the visitors to 214 all out after they batted first.

PowerGen replied with 153 all out at stumps yesterday, losing first-innings points, and depending on what happens on the final day of the contest today, they could be out of the title race.

Left-arm spinner Akeal Ho­sein was also impressive, snat­ching four wickets in one over, including a hat-trick, to put his Queen’s Park Cricket Club in control of their match against Cladrac Club at Gilbert Park in California.

After the Parkites batted first and were dismissed for 214, with Darren Bravo hitting 55, the left-arm spinner took over, finishing with six wickets for 28 runs from 11 overs as Caldrac slipped from 56 for three to 56 for seven before eventually reaching 79 for nine at stumps. 

The other outstanding perfor­mances in the round came from the Guyanese players in the league.

West Indies Test batsman Nar­singh Deonarine slammed 16 fours and three sixes in an unbeaten 187 to guide CLICO Prey­sal to 336 for eight at stumps at Inshan Ali Park against Ales­con Comets while wicket­keep­er Der­win Christian hit 194 to lead Munroe Road Cricket Club to 334 against Esmeralda at Esmeralda Recreation Ground.

Esmeralda closed the first day on 29 for two

Ranga Latchana, who was born in Guyana, slammed 107 not out, with 11 fours and seven sixes, for First Citizens Clarke Road, leading them to 227 against Moosai, who were 100 for five at stumps at Wilson Road in Penal.

Other centuries yesterday came from Nashwan Latchman, who hit 100 for Seenath’s Auto Bamboo Sports as they made 253 against Jenexcon Tableland.

Steven Taylor replied with 101 to lead Tableland to 195 for seven at stumps.

In the feature game of the round in Penal, the League lead­ers Merry Boys were in some early trouble just six overs into the game after spinner Varoon Samaroo grabbed a wicket each in his first three overs to reduce the visitors to 13 for three.

The off-spinner sent back openers Mario Belcon (six), Jeetendra Sookdeo (one) and Troy Cornelius (one) before Aaron Alfred and Aneil Kanhai made 30 each, too, taking the score to 77 before another batch of wickets tumbled to the strong PowerGen spin attack.

Alfred was stumped by new­ly appointed West Indies skip­per Denesh Ramdin off Ansil Bha­gan while Kanhai was bowled by Kavesh Kantasingh as Merry Boys slipped to 81 for five.

They were 137 for eight at one stage as Barbadian all-rounder Javon Searles slammed 41 off 66 balls before number ten batsman Atiba Allert stepped up with some big shots to take the score past 200.

Those runs proved vital as the defending champions conceded a 61-run deficit at stumps.

Only Ramdin stood up with 58. Searles grabbed four for 51 to lead the demolition job for the visitors.

All matches continue today from 9.30 a.m.

At Wilson Road

First Citizens Clarke Road 227 (Ranga Latchana 107 n.o. Derone Davis 44, Vinod Siew 31; Jahron Alfred 5/68, Namir Seupaul 3/50) vs Moosai Sports 100-5 (Wasim Haslim 50;

Derone Davis 2/41, Kissoondath Magram 2/5)

At Gilbert Park

QPCC 214 (Darren Bravo 55, Jonathan Augus­tus 36, Khary Pierre 26; Jon Ross Jaggesar 6/31) vs Caldrac Club 79-9 (Akeal Hosein 6/28, Khary Pierre 2/20)

At Esmeralda Recreation Ground

Munroe Road Cricket Club 334 (Derwin Christian 194, Kristoff Andrews 74; Kirwyn Sirju 5/111, Rishaad Harris 2/19, Ahkeel Mollon 2/53) vs Esmeralda 29-2 

At Inshan Ali Park

CLICO Preysal 336-8 (Narsingh Deonarine 187 n.o., Eugene La Fleur 50, Kamil Pooran 28; Raj Nanan 4/51, Imran Khan 3/128) 

vs Alescon Comets

At Tableland

Seenath’s Auto Bam­boo 

Sports 253 (Nashwan Latch-

man 100, Ryan Baksh 43; Amir Khan 5/80, William

Perkins 3/39) vs Jenexcon Tableland 195-7 (Steven Tay-

lor 101, Al Small 32; Sel­vin 

Jacobs 4/32, Ryan Baksh 2/29)

At Syne Village

Merry Boys 214 (Atiba Allert 61, Javon Searles 41,

Aaron Alfred 30, Aneil Kan­-

hai 30; Varoon Sama­roo 5/52, Ansil Bha­gan 2/48, Kavesh Kanta­singh 2/54) vs PowerGen Penal Sports 153 (Denesh Ramdin 58, 

Javon Searles 4/51, 

Aneil Kanhai 2/6)