Saturday, December 16, 2017

Mixed warm-up results for hockey teams


scorED a double: Akim Toussaint

Mark Fraser

 The Trinidad and Tobago Men’s national hockey team continued to show good form in their penultimate warm-up match before actual competition at the Commonwealth Games, Glasgow 2014 on the weekend. 

On Saturday, playing against a combined squad of two top Scottish Division One teams, Grange & Kelburne, which featured a number of former Scottish senior team players as well as a few knocking on the door of national selection, T&T went into the lead five minutes after the start, and doubled the score when Tariq Marcano brought an end to a well-worked right side combination play by beating the keeper.

After a slow start in the second half T&T were able to score four more field goals with Akim Toussaint scoring a double, Tariq Marcano slotting in his second of the game and Dillet Gilkes finishing in the final minute to end the match 6-0 in T&T’s favour. 

Yesterday the men had their final practice game against Scottish Division One team, Western Wildcats.

Meanwhile, the T&T women came up against a slightly fitter, faster and more settled Malaysian outfit and were well beaten.

The Malaysians scored four field goals in the first half to dominate play. T&T came into the game scoring early in the second half, but  the Malaysians also added to their tally in the second half to bring the final score to 5-1.  

Head coach of the T&T women, Anthony Marcano, pointed out that the game was more even in the second half because T&T adopted a more defensive posture in their own half and hence Malaysia was unable to penetrate any further than the single goal. He also felt that his team was improving with each game.

T&T squads:


Darren Cowie (captain), Mickel Pierre, Andrey Rocke, Marcus James, Shaquille Daniel,

Tariq Marcano, Stefan Mouttet, Kwandwane Browne, Ishmael Campbell, Aidan De

Gannes, Solomon Eccles, Dillet Gilkes, Nicholas Grant, Michael Otis O’Connor II,

Jordon Reynos, Akim Toussaint, Carlos Stephens.

Technical staff: Glen “Fido” Francis (coach), Andrew Wilson (assistant coach), Kirth

Davis (manager), Nicholas Baldeosingh (videographer).


Patricia Wright-Alexis (captain), Petal Derry, Alanna Lewis (captain), Kwylan Jaggassar,

Amie Olton, Savannah De Freitas, Amanda George, Avion Ashton, Elise Olton, Kayla

Brathwaite, Fiona O’Brien, Dana-Lee De Gannes, Brianna Govia, Tamia Roach, Zene

Henry, Brittney Hingh.

Technical staff: Anthony Marcano (coach), Stacey Siu Butt (assistant coach), Sharon De

Freitas (manager), Natalie Nieves (videographer), Ayanna Mc Clean (umpire).