Thursday, December 14, 2017

Mohammed, ‘Emmas’ for JITIC


Emma Davis: Retained her under-14 title this year but was beaten by Emma Rose Trestrail in the under-16 final of the Catch National Junior Championships. —Photo: CURTIS CHASE

Mark Fraser

NABEEL MOHAMMED and the two Emmas are among eight players selected to represent Trinidad and Tobago in the under-16 division of the most prestigious junior tennis tournament in the Central American and Caribbean region.

The tournament, better known as JITIC, will serve off on Sunday and will be contested on a daily basis until next week Sunday in El Salvador. The under-14 division will begin the following day and will take place until Sunday August 24 at the same venue.

The format has been changed as both categories were contested simultaneously until last year.

Mohammed, the national under-16 and 18 champion for the last two years, is at the helm of boys chosen to compete during the first week.

The others are national under-16 runner-up Ryan Thomas, who has won his age-group title in the Sagicor Junior Tournament for the last two years, as well as Tobagonian Joshua Arnold and Timothy Davis.                                                                                                                                          

Davis’ sister Emma and Anya King will fly the red, white and black in both the under-14 and 16 tournaments. Their teammates in the first week will be “Sagicor” under-16 runner-up Carissa Rudolfo, and national under-16 and 18 champ Emma Rose Trestrail.

Emma Davis, last year’s national under-14 and 16 champ, retained her under-14 crown in April this year but was beaten by arch-rival Trestrail in the under-16 final of the Catch National Junior Championships. Playing alongside King and Davis in the under-14 division will be Daynelle Des Vignes and “Sagicor” runner-up Brianna Lawrence. 

The boys picked are “Sagicor” champ Che Andrews, Adam Escalante, Tobagonian Kobe James and Scott Hackshaw, the two-time defending national under-14 champ who was also selected on the under-16 team but declined the invitation.

Tobagonian Dunstan Denoon and former national champ Beverly Corbie will coach the under-16 team, while Clint Hodge and Kyle Hannays, the recently-elected public relations officer of the Tennis Association of Trinidad and Tobago, will be in charge of the under-14s.