Sunday, February 25, 2018

Moosai Ladies, Phoenix clash for TTWCA League title

The Trinidad and Tobago Women’s Cricket Association (TTWCA) 40-over League title is on the line today, with defending champions Moosai Ladies facing 2011 winners Phoenix Women today at Aranjuez from 12 noon.

Moosai are perfect after seven matches, and lead Phoenix in the standings by three points. Phoenix are second, with their only loss coming to Moosai in the first round. But they have a superior run rate, which means victory—and three points—will put them ahead of the 2012 champs with a win.

Last year Moosai won their first League title, edging out Phoenix to finish with a perfect win record. This year, their run has been spoiled by bad weather, each of the Premiership teams having two no-results each.

Moosai had a strong run last year, losing just one match—the T20 final—to Phoenix. They also won the TTWCA Knockout title.

Looking to solidify third spot are Technocrats, who lost heavily to both Moosai and Phoenix. They face fifth-placed Cricket Lovers at Pinto Road Recreation Ground in Santa Rosa.

The other match sees sixth and cellar-placed MAAAD Rangers looking for their first win in their eighth match at Brooklyn Recreation Ground in Valencia. All League matches bowl off at 12 noon.

There will also be Championship Division T20 action today at UWI SPEC. Hibiscus Ladies play two matches, taking on San Rafael Ladies from 10 a.m., before their scheduled fixtures against Achievers at 2 p.m. 


Today’s TTWCA fixtures:

Premiership Division (40 overs; Round 10)

Phoenix vs Moosai Ladies, Aranjuez, 12 noon

Cricket Lovers vs Technocrats, Pinto Road Rec Ground, 12 noon

MAAAD Rangers vs Pinto Spice Girls, Brooklyn Rec Ground, 12 noon


Championship Division (T20)

Hibiscus Ladies vs San Rafael Ladies, UWI SPEC, 10 a.m.

Hibiscus Ladies vs Achievers, UWI SPEC, 2 p.m.


Premiership Division (40 overs)

Teams  P W L NR   NRR Pts

Moosai Ladies 7 7 0 2 +2.64 23

Phoenix Women 7 6 4 2 +2.73 20

Technocrats 7 3 4        2 +14 11

Spice Girls 7 3 4 2 -0.7 11 

Cricket Lovers           7 2 5 2 -1.35 6

MAAAD Rangers 7 0 7 2 -3.87 2