Saturday, January 20, 2018

Moosai Ladies repeat as league champs

Moosai Ladies celebrated their second straight Trinidad and Tobago Women’s Cricket Association (TTWCA) League Premiership title with a 31-run victory over Phoenix Women at Aranjuez thanks to an all-round performance by Kirbyina Alexander.

The match was a virtual final, with the defending champions Moosai and the 2011 winners Phoenix separated by three points. Phoenix had a slightly better net run rate, meaning a win would have handed them the title.

They would have had one hand on the trophy after reducing Moosai Ladies to 158 for nine in their 40 overs. Britney Cooper, Loretta Eligon and Leandra Ramdeen all took two wickets to keep Moosai at bay.

Only T&T players, opener Amanda Samaroo and Alexander kept Moosai in the running with half-centuries, Samaroo scoring a match-high 64, while Alexander added 57 to get their team up to a competitive total.

It turned out to be more than enough, as the Moosai bowlers shone to skittle Phoenix for 127. Shenelle Lord offered resistance with 37, although Britney Cooper (19) and Samantha Bissoon (15) also chipped in.

Alexander’s two wickets, coupled with Moosai skipper Lee-Ann Kirby’s four for 20, ensured Phoenix never got close the title.

Technocrats finished third after cruising past Cricket Lovers by nine wickets, with Sharon Wharton their best bowler (four for 11). Technocrats got home thanks to national all-rounder Stacy-Ann King’s 78 and an unbeaten 27 from Orie Trotman.

Spice Girls also ensured cellar-placed MAAAD Rangers did not end their League campaign with an upset win, the Pinto Road ladies winning their encounter at Plum Mitan.

In the Champions Division T20 competition, Hibiscus Ladies had mixed results at UWI SPEC. They defeated San Rafael Ladies by two wickets, reaching their victory target of 90 for eight in 18.3 overs after San Rafael had posted 89 for seven, thanks to 30 from former T&T player Brenda Solozano. Shanice Pascall (34) top-scored for Hibiscus Ladies.

However, they lost out to Achievers Women at the same venue after being bowled out for 64 in 16.4 overs in their pursuit of 128 to lose by 63 runs.

Premiership Division (40 overs)

At Aranjuez

Moosai Ladies 158/9 in 40 overs (Amanda Samaroo 64, Kirbyina Alexander 57; Britney Cooper 2/20, Loretta Eligon 2/31, Leandra Ramdeen 2/32) vs Phoenix Women 127 all out (Shenelle Lord 37, Britney Cooper 19, Samantha Bissoon 15; Lee-Ann Kirby 4/20, Kirbyina Alexander 2/26)

Moosai Ladies won by 31 runs

At Santa Rosa

Cricket Lovers 138/8 in 26 overs (Desiree Simon 33, Natalie Ninah 16; Sharon Wharton 4/11) vs Technocrats 143/1 in 16.2 overs (Stacy-Ann King 78, Orie Trotman 27 not out)

Technocrats won by nine wickets

Championship Division (T20)


San Rafael Ladies 89/7 in 20 overs (Brenda Solozano 30, Christine Bhola 14, Makeni Thomas 13; Ameera Burgess 2/16) vs Hibiscus Ladies 90/8 in 18.3 overs (Shanice Pascall 34, Rosalie Dolabaille 17; Brenda Solozano 2/5)

Hibiscus Ladies won by two wickets


Achievers Women 127/4 in 20 overs (Monica Ragoo 56, Melissa Ramjit 18; Shanice Pascall 2/14, Nidia Andrews 2/27) vs Hibiscus Ladies 64 all out 16.4 overs (Rosalie Dolabaille 23; Sherizza Weekes 2/14, Renelle Dookie 2/15)

Achievers Women won by 63 runs