Moosai slip into Premier Division lead

By Roger Seepersad

Moosai Sports took the lead in the Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board (TTCB) Premier Division after completing an easy nine-wicket win over Caldrac Sports Club on the second day of their sixth round match at Gilbert Park, California.

The win put Moosai on 122 points and helped them overtake Alescon Comets at the top of the standings.

Comets slipped to third on the table with 118 points following their first innings loss to defending champions Queen's Park Cricket Club at Pierre Road, Charlieville.

At Gilbert Park, Moosai made 352 for seven declared and dismissed Caldrac for 189 and 230. Batting a second time Moosai reached 71 for one to seal the win.

At Pierre Road, the Parkites' skipper Justin Guillen slammed 105 as the Port of Spain club made 262 for four declared in their second innings. Comets reached 232 for four at stumps to earn a draw.

Hafeez Karamath Limited Aranjuez Sports scored a big upset yesterday as they won first innings points in their drawn match against Merry Boys in Diego Martin.

After Dion Ferrier's 109 not out led Aranjuez 346 all out, the centurion came back to snatch four for 60 as Merry Boys were dismissed for 265.

Also scoring outright wins yesterday were Clarke Road United and PowerGen Penal.

Summarised scores:

At Diego Martin:

Aranjuez 346 all out in 98 overs (Dion Ferrier  109 n.o., Kelon Carmichael 60, Jonathan Cabralis 50: Javed Ramdhanie 3/49) vs Merry Boys 265 all out in 78.3 overs (Troy Cornelius 59, Alcindo Holder 52, Amir Jangoo 33; Dion Ferrier 4/60, Malcolm Ramlogan 3/58) & 86-6 in 25 overs (Michael Brown 24, K Singh 2/15, Atiba Allert 2/44)—Match Drawn

At Pierre Road:

QPCC 187 in 48.4 overs (Marlon Barclay 42; Ansil Bhaggan 7/80) & 262-4 dec. (Justin Guillen 105, Petrock Nicholas 68, Marlon Barclay 51) vs Comets 130 in 31.1 overs (Daren Ganga 38; Amit Jaggernauth 5/22) & 232-4 (Daren Ganga 77 n.o., Richard Kelly 52 n.o., Stephen Wharwood 52)—Match Drawn

At Kennedy Park:

Clarke Road 301-7 dec. in 80 overs (Latchana Rangana 108 n.o., Ryan Ramdass 105; Jonathan Foo 3/73, Visham Ramroop 2/71) vs Diamond 103 all out in 40 overs (Emmanuel Lett 20; Sanjiv Gooljar 4/23, Derone Davis 2/4) & 193 all out in 63.3 overs (Nicholas Jugmohan 45, Visham Ramroop 36; Sanjiv Gooljar 4/64, Shazan babwah 4/51)—Clarke Road won by an innings and 5 runs

At Gilbert Park:

Moosai 352-7 in 69.2 overs (Navin Stewart 63, Neil Williams 69, Ewart Nicholson 62; Ancil Nedd 3/83, Dave Teelucksingh 4/83)& 71/1 in 9.2 overs (William Perkins 32) vs Caldrac 189 in 29 overs (Mark Deyal 58, Franklyn Rouse 40; Amir Khan 4/42) & 230 all out in 54.5 overs (Royston Crandon 68, Omesh Ramoutar 53; Ken Hazel 5/98, Amir Khan 3/62, Aneil Kanhai 2/66)—Moosai won by 9 wkts

At Syne Village:

PowerGen 284 all out in 65.1 overs (Evin Lewis 103, Nicholas Sookdeosingh 119; Selwyn Jacobs 6/59) & 150-8 in 29.2 overs (Evin Lewis 33, Gregory Mahabir 23; Ryan Baksh 4/51, Selvin Jacobs 3/49) vs Bamboo Sports 144 all out in 32.3 overs (Terrence Hinds 38; Samuel Badree 4/51) & 207 all out in 46.5 overs (Rishaad Harris 62, Krishna Arjune 39, Vishwanath Seenath 31; Sherwin Ganga 7/83)—PowerGen won by 83 runs

Let us know your thoughts
This content requires the latest Adobe Flash Player and a browser with JavaScript enabled. Click here for a free download of the latest Adobe Flash Player.

Express Poll

Do you support the abolition of appeals to the Privy Council?

  • Yes
  • No

Sports Headlines


More Weather