Tuesday, January 16, 2018

More of same from Windies

...looking to carry on from ODI series

 West Indies Twenty20 skipper Darren Sammy wants his team to continue their domination of over Bangladesh in the one-off T20 bowling off at 8 p.m. today at Warner Park in St Kitts.

The Windies whipped the visitors 3-0 in the three-day One Day International series with dominating displays in the last two matches of that series.

Sammy wants his players to continue that momentum and keep their intensity up heading into today’s match.

“I think the one-day team set the tone and we as a group after we assess ourselves after this tour, we want to say we are ahead of them so we want to win every game. We have done that in the one-day series and now that is our main focus for the one-off T20,” said Sammy.

There were a few changes from the one-day squad but the core of the team is still there with Chris Gayle, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith and Sammy himself expected to provide the big hitting.

But in the ODI, another big-hitter emerged in wicket-keeper Denesh Ramdin who blasted 11 sixes in his knock of 169 in the final ODI.

Sammy welcomed the stability Ramdin represents in the middle order and said his team looks like a good one. The only player missing from the side is spinner Samuel Badree who is out with injury.

“The side looks powerful and once we fire on all cylinders we will always be a destructive force,” the West Indies skipper insisted.

“The T20 is very important and we have to continue winning games. It is a format we have done well, we have been champions and we want to continue to show we are good in this format and bring that exciting brand of cricket that the world wants to see us play,” Sammy added.


West Indies: Darren Sammy (captain), Sulieman Benn, Dwayne Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Krishmar Santokie, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith.

Bangladesh: Mushfiqur Rahim (captain), Abdur Razzak, Al-Amin Hossain, Anamul Haque, Imrul Kayes, Mahmudullah, Mashrafe Mortaza, Mohammed Mithun, Mominul Haque, Nasir Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Shamsur Rahman, Sohaq Gazi, Taijul Islam, Tamim Iqbal, Taskin Ahmed.