Wednesday, January 17, 2018

Munroe Road meet Merry Boys in UWI final today

Munroe Road booked their place in today’s UWI National Twenty20 final after holding their nerves to beat First Citizens Clarke Road United by three wickets and with an over to spare in their low-scoring semi-final at Sir Frank Worrell Ground, UWI SPEC St Augustine on Thursday night.

The Penal-based team, Clarke Road were dismissed for 105 off 19.5 which was never enough to trouble Munroe Road, who replied with 110 for seven off 19.

Munroe Road will face Merry Boys in tonight’s final at the same venue from 6:30 p.m. with the winners walking away with the $25,000 jackpot.

On Thursday, Clarke Road would have been eying a big score but suffered some early setbacks after losing Ahmed Mohammed, Kjorn Ottley and Ranga Latchana in single digits, all to Marlon Bharath who finished with figures of three for 16 off his four overs.

Derone Davis hit five fours in a 22-ball 23, while skipper Sean Siloch hit a six and a four in his 20 off 18 balls to boost the total.

James Dodds was the best bowler for Munroe Road, snatching four for 22.

Despite the low total, Clarke Road kept themselves in the match with some good bowling backed up by some excellent fielding. The first Munroe Road wicket to fall was a direct throw to the stumps by Kissoondath Magram with Joel Graham (nine) short of his ground, while Mukesh Persad trapped Kapil Harry lbw for two in the same over.

Munroe Road were set back again in the tenth over with the score on 57 as Kieron Joseph was run out for ten off 19 balls.Derwin Christian fell in the next over and Munroe Road were in danger of losing until Dodds smacked two sixes and a four in a run-a-ball 26 to seal the win.

On Wednesday night, Merry Boys, who were runners up in the inaugural tournament in 2012 defeated Queen’s Park Cricket Club by 12 runs to secure their place in the final.

UWI T20 summarised scores

Clarke Road United 105 (19.5 overs) (Derone Davis 23, Sean Siloch 20; James Dodds 4/22, Marlon Bharath 3/16) vs Munroe Road 110-7 (19 overs) (James Dodds 26 n.o., Michael Harry 21; Kissoondath Magram 2/16, Mukesh Persad 2/27)

Munroe Road won by three wickets