Monday, December 18, 2017

Murray new QPCC head

Former West Indies wicket-keeper Deryck Murray was elected the new Queen's Park Cricket Club president during the Club's Annual General Meeting (AGM) at Queen's Park Oval, Port of Spain on Wednesday night.

Murray takes over from former president Bruce Aanensen, who resigned as president with one year left in his term.

Murray won the race for the presidency ahead of the club's for honorary secretary Peter Inglefield who was also contesting the post.

Dane Darbasie will take up the post of vice president, which was previously held by Audley Walker, while Godfrey Bain was elected the new honorary secretary.

Both men were unchallenged for their respective posts.

The post of treasurer, was not up for election.

The club's treasurer, Roger Galt, has one more year left in his term.

Colin Murray was elected unopposed for the post of "cricket captain" which was previously held by Christopher Galt.

The QPCC membership also elected five management members at the AGM out of eight candidates.

The five management members are Colin Board, Scott Rodriguez, Brian Sheppard, Brent Augustus and Dr Nigel Camacho.

The unsuccessful candidates going for management members were Colm De Freitas, Andrew Persad and Derek Daniel.

The five management members along with the president, vice president, treasurer, honorary secretary and "cricket captain" will form the new ten-man QPCC management committee.