Nagamootoo takes 10 as Munroe Road close in on victory

By BY Roger Seepersad

Mahendra Nagamootoo’s second ten-wicket match haul in as many matches put his club Munroe Road on course for victory over Alescon Comets at the end of the first day of their Premier Division two-day league match at Munroe Road Ground, yesterday.

The Guyanese leg-spinner took five for 28 and five for 45 as Comets were dismissed for 76 and 108.

Nishal Gayadeen, who also took ten wickets in Munroe Road’s first league game, picked up five for 16 in the second innings yesterday.

Munroe Road made 108 in their first innings and were batting 30 for two in their second turn at the crease, needing just 17 more runs to complete their second outright victory of the season.

Another Guyanese, Ryan Ramdass hit 110 to put First Citizens Clarke Road in control against Seenath’s Auto Bamboo Sports.

And Caldrac Club’s game against Jenexcon Tableland was stopped, with reports indicating that the umpires did not take the field after lunch.

Summarised Scores

At Munroe Road

Alescon Comets 76 (20.1 overs) (Davindra Krishna 32; Mahendra Nagamootoo 5/28, Richard Rojas 3/16) & 108 (24.4 overs) (Stephan Wharwood 24, Andy Gobin 23; Mahendra Nagamootoo 5/45, Nishal Gayadeen 5/16) vs Munroe Road Cricket Club 138 (40 overs) (Derwin Christian 51, Michael Harry 21; Davindra Krishna 5/45, Marlon Bharath 3/27, Raj Nanan 2/30) & 30-2 (10 overs) (Keiron Joseph 14 n.o., Kapil Harry 16 n.o.; Davindra Krishna 2/11) 

At Gilbert Park

Caldrac Club 134-3 (26 overs) (Franklyn Rouse 37, Sharmarh Brooks 28 n.o.,) vs Jenexcon Tableland

At Honeymoon Park

Moosai Sports 214 (62 overs) (Akiel Cooper 69, A Daniel 51, Anthony Simmons 28; Javid Ramdhanie 3/48, Aneil Kanhai 3/63, Atiba Allert 2/23) vs Merry Boys 151-3 (42 overs) (Mario Belcon 61, Aaron Alfred 41 n.o.; Jed Yearwood 2/22, Akiel Cooper 1/19)

At Wilson Road

Seenath’s Auto Bamboo Sports 107 (33.4 overs) (Darren Deonarine 38 n.o.; Mukesh Persad 5/42, Kissondath Magram 3/24, Shane Smith 2/16) vs First Citizens Clarke Road 275-6 (74 overs) (Ryan Ramdass 110, Adrian Ali 59, Yannick Ottlley 33, Nicholas Pooran 32; Darren Deonarine 2/78)

At Inshan Ali Park

QPCC 302-8 dec (98 overs) (Jeremy Solozano 96, Daron Cruickshank 84, Kevon Cooper 41; Anthony Adams 5/79, Bryan Charles 2/64) vs CLICO Preysal 32-3 (Kevon Cooper 3/5)

At Syne Village

PowerGen 228 (55.4 overs) (Varoon Samaroo 75, Rajindra Chandrika 36, Ansil Bhaggan 35, Jeron Maniram 29; Kirwyn Sirju 6/37, Akheel Mollon 2/59, Bryan Boodram 2/50) vs Esmeralda Sports 127-8 (48 overs) (Trevon Griffith 57, Teshawn Castro 25; Sherwin Ganga 3/38, Ansil Bhaggan 3/50, Jovan Ali 2/22)

Let us know your thoughts
This content requires the latest Adobe Flash Player and a browser with JavaScript enabled. Click here for a free download of the latest Adobe Flash Player.

Express Poll

Do you agree that the Acting Commissioner of Police and the three Deputy Commissioners should apologise to the nation for the 'day of total policing' fiasco?

  • Yes
  • No

Sports Headlines


More Weather