Tuesday, January 23, 2018

New format for TTCB T20

The Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board (TTCB) National League Twenty20 Festival bowls off on Monday at Guaracara Park, Pointe-a-Pierre with a new, more exciting format which promises six nights of action featuring some of the best local and regional T20 stars.

The new format will see the eight Premier Division T20 quarterfinalists battle it out in knockout action on the first two days of the Festival, with the winners moving on to the Premier Division semifinals, which will be played alongside the semifinals of the Championship Division on Wednesday and Thursday.

The Championship third-place playoff and final will be played on May 24, while the Premier Division final and third-place playoff takes place on May 25.

The new format is a departure from last year’s ten-day version, when the Festival featured only the 12 Premier Division teams who were divided into four groups of three for a round-robin tournament, followed by the quarterfinals, semifinals and final.

The new format sees the 12 Premier Division teams divided into two groups of six, with the top four in each group getting the opportunity to play in the Festival.

The defending champions, Queen’s Park Cricket Club will open the Festival against Esmeralda on day one from three p.m., before Merry Boys take on First Citizens Clarke Road United in the second match of the double-header from seven.

Day two will see Caldrac Club taking on Moosai Sports from three p.m. and Seenath’s Auto Bamboo Sports tackling PowerGen Penal from seven.

Victoria face Tableland in the first Championship semifinal on Wednesday at three p.m., while Queen’s Park Cricket Club 2 meet Valiants in the second semi on Thursday, also from three p.m.

The prize structure remains the same from previous tournaments, with the Premier Division winners pocketing $150,000 and the runners-up getting $80,000. The third-place Premier Division club will get $50,000, while the fourth-place team will take home $30,000. The losing quarterfinalists get $10,000 each.

The Championship Division champions will receive $50,000, and the runners-up, $35,000.