PLAYER OF THE YEAR NOMINEE: T&T captain, Kenwyne Jones.


No room for Jones, Williams

CONCACAF 2013 Awards...

 Trinidad and Tobago captain and Stoke City striker Kenwyne Jones got a nomination, but was not among the winners as CONCACAF named its first-ever Male and Female Players of the Year.

Central FC and T&T custodian Jan Michael Williams was also shortlisted for Goalkeeper of the Year, but was beaten to that honour by Everton and US goalie Tim Howard.

The body which covers football in the Caribbean, North and Central America, named CONCACAF Mexico’s Oribe Peralta and Alex Morgan of the United States as its top players over the last 12 months. The CONCACAF Awards are designed to honour the year’s outstanding performers and achievements in confederation-sanctioned competitions involving national teams at all levels and age categories, including FIFA World Cup qualifying for both genders.

The Confederation revealed honourees in six different categories. Initially, a  semifinal list of ten nominees in each category was determined by a vote of technical directors from each of CONCACAF’s 41 Member Associations and the CONCACAF Technical Study Group, which analyses tactics and rates performances at all official CONCACAF tournaments.

Santos Laguna’s Peralta outdistanced US internationals Landon Donovan and Clint Dempsey, who finished second and third, respectively. Peralta followed up a memorable 2012, with an extraordinary 2013 campaign. During the year, he scored eight goals in seven World Cup qualifying appearances, including five of Mexico’s nine goals in the two-legged CONCACAF/Oceania playoff against New Zealand that saw “El Tricolor” earn a berth at Brazil 2014. The 29-year-old netted 19 goals in 27 Liga MX appearances, while also playing in the CONCACAF Champions League final for a second straight time.

 On the women’s side, Morgan edged US teammate Abby Wambach in what was the most closely contested vote on the ballot. Morgan enjoyed an outstanding season for both club and country. She was on the roster of the Portland Thorns, which won the inaugural National Women’s Soccer League championship.  Over the course of 18 regular-season games, Morgan scored eight goals to share the team lead with Canada international Christine Sinclair and added a team-high five assists. The 24-year-old forward also appeared in 12 of the United States’s 16 internationals, netting six goals and assisting on four others.

In the other categories, Tim Howard (Everton & United States) was named Goalkeeper of the Year, Jurgen Klinsmann (United States) was Coach of the Year, Marco Antonio Rodriguez was Referee of the Year and Raul Jimenez’s brilliant strike against Panama in October was voted Goal of the Year. 

“These awards have generated a fantastic level of enthusiasm across the CONCACAF football community. We had almost 60,000 fans vote and witnessed an impressive level of participation from the media, as well as captains and coaches. Congratulations to Oribe, Alex and all the others on their fully deserved recognition of their outstanding performances this year,” said CONCACAF president Jeffery Webb.



1. Oribe Peralta, Forward (Santos Laguna & Mexico) 2. Landon Donovan, Forward (LA Galaxy & USA) 3. Clint Dempsey, Midfielder (Seattle Sounders & US)



1. Alex Morgan, Forward (Portland Thorns & US) 2. Abby Wambach, Forward (Western New York Flash & US) 3. Shirley Cruz, Midfielder (PSG & Costa Rica)



1. Tim Howard (Everton & US) 2. Raul Gudiño (Guadalajara & Mexico U-17) 3. Keylor Navas (Levante & Costa Rica)



1 Jurgen Klinsmann (US) 2. Miguel Herrera (Club America & Mexico) 3. Luis Fernando Suarez (Honduras)



1. Marco Antonio Rodriguez (Mexico) 2. Roberto Garcia (Mexico) 3. Courtney Campbell (Jamaica)




1. Raul Jimenez (Mexico) 2. Juan Carlos Garcia (Honduras) 3. Jozy Altidore (USA)

This content requires the latest Adobe Flash Player and a browser with JavaScript enabled. Click here for a free download of the latest Adobe Flash Player.

Express Poll

Are you experiencing the benefits of the $1 billion worth in water projects since 2010?

  • Yes
  • No

Newsletter Sign Up

Subscribe to our FREE Digital Divide Newsletter.
To subscribe enter your email address
For Email Marketing you can trust


More Weather