Tuesday, January 23, 2018

One newcomer for South American tour

 National senior team head coach Stephen Hart yesterday announced a 22-man squad for the upcoming friendlies against Argentina and Iran.

Hart has one newcomer in his squad, former England Under 20 defender Gavin Hoyte, younger brother of current senior team defender Justin Hoyte.

Cardiff City Kenwyne Jones will captain the team which includes a host of players who have been part of the national team for recent matches including the back to back victories over Jamaica last November.

Hart was firm in his comments and expectations ahead of the match as he spoke at a press briefing at the TTFA offices, Hasely Crawford Stadium yesterday.

“Ideally we’d love to win the two games but we have to be realistic. We’re coming together maybe ten days before the game as we’re hoping to have a training camp with most of the players selected here from May 20th,” Hart said.

“Both Argentina and Iran will be comfortable as they will be fully prepared for a World Cup which starts a few days after our matches. But surely this is a wonderful opportunity for us to test our level of readiness against two great opponents.

“Regarding the squad, I tried to come up with the best possible names considering that the games are being played outside of a FIFA date and clubs are not obliged to release the players. But we’ve come up with a pretty decent list and I’m sure everyone will be very eager to do their best in the matches,” Hart added.

The team departs for Buenos Aires on June 1.


T&T squad  for Argentina and Iran matches:

Jan Michael Williams (Central FC), Marvin Phillip (Point Fortin CC), Daneil Cyrus (DirecTV W Connection), Justin Hoyte (Millwall), Gavin Hoyte (Dagenham & Redbridge), Radanfah Abu Bakr (FK Kruoja Pakruojis), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Carlyle Mitchell (Vancouver Whitecaps), Sheldon Bateau (KV Mechelen), Khaleem Hyland (Racing Genk), Ataullah Guerra (Central FC), Andre Boucaud (unattached), Kevan George (Dayton Dutch Lions), Lester Peltier (Slovan Bratislava), Joevin Jones (W Connection), Densill Theobald (Caledonia AIA), Marcus Joseph (Point Fortin CC), Kevin Molino (Orlando City), Rundell Winchester (Central FC), Willis Plaza (Central FC), Trevin Caesar (North East Stars), Kenwyne Jones (Cardiff City)

Standby – Yohance Marshall (Central FC)