Friday, February 23, 2018

PLIPDECO win Industrial League


CHAMPS: Winning SIS Industrial Football League, champions PLIPDECO celebrate.

Mark Fraser

Lendl Knights scored the winner on Friday night to crown Plipdeco champions of the SIS Industrial Football League 2014.

Plipdeco won 1-0 over Arcelor Mittal, giving the ‘Port Men’ their first ever SIS Industrial Football League title, and the right to call themselves football champions of the Point Lisas Industrial Estate.

Earlier in the day, the AUM division of Industrial Plant Services Limited, finished third when getting the better of opponents Nu Iron by a similar 1-0 margin, via a 26th minute Akil Noriega header.

Meanwhile, the final was settled as early as the fourth minute, when Knights capitalised on some free space around the penalty area and drilled his effort into the back of the net. Afterwards, the game could have gone either way, as both teams engaged in an enticing encounter with some excellent passing and quick counter attacks. Keston Belfor enjoyed a good day on the field but his missed opportunities did not help in extending Plipdeco’s lead. Belfor had a golden opportunity in the 17th minute when tournament MVP, Ajamu Mattherson, whipped an enticing cross that beat everyone as it flased across the face of the goal, including Belfour, who was inches away on the far side. Mittal responded positively in the second half, had a goal disallowed, but could not find a tying item.



Plipdeco 1 (Lendl Knights 4’) Arcelor Mittal 0

3rd place

PSL AUM 1 (Akil Noreiga 26’) vs Nu Iron 0

Complete list of awards:

1st Place: Plipdeco

2nd Place: Arcelor Mittal

3rd Place: IPSL AUM

4th Place: Nu Iron Unlimited

Most Goals: Ajamu Matterson 8 (Plipdeco), Jerron Quashie 8 (Yara), Glendon Reece 8 (AUM)

Tournament MVP: Ajamu Matterson (Plipdeco)