Well done: Johnpaul Pedro, left, receives the Set Swim Soar award from Sea Hawks president Jason Wickham at the club's awards function at the Dr Joao Havelange Centre of Excellence last Saturday.


Pedro, Ramkissoon shine at Sea Hawks function

Athletes Johnpaul Pedro and Jonathan Ramkissoon were the notable standouts as Centre of Excellence Sea Hawks Swim Club held its Annual Dash Away Soiree at the Garden Sanctuary of the Dr Joao Havelange Centre of Excellence on Saturday. This event was held to recognise the 2012 achievements of the club.

Pedro, who competed in the 11-12 age group last year, received the Set Swim Soar Award which is the club's highest award. Set Swim Soar is the club's motto which means set your goals, train hard and you shall succeed.

Pedro copped the prize after going from being a swimmer who infrequently made finals, and had never made a national team, to one who became a finalist at regional meets, and won 11-12 Male 4 x 100m freestyle relay Caribbean Island Swimming Championships (CISC) gold and 11-12 Male 4x100m free relay CARIFTA silver. Pedro also ended 2012 as the fastest 11-12 male in the 200m individual medley (IM).

Pedro was also awarded the title of Emerging Athlete of the Year. His attitude to training and his commitment to excellence were great contributors to his 2012 success.

Ramkissoon was recognised as the athlete who had the Most Outstanding Individual Performance. This performance was at the Biennial Caribbean Island Swimming Championships (CISC) which was held in Aruba in June/July 2012. At that meet, Ramkissoon narrowly missed the 15-17 male 50m breaststroke national record by 0.02 seconds. He also achieved best times in all his breaststroke events at CISC, achieving a 15-17 Male 100m breaststroke silver and 50m breaststroke bronze. Ramkissoon was also presented the award for Most Promising Male Competitive Swimmer.

In November 2011, Sea Hawks merged with Tsunami Swim Club to form TITANS Swim Club. However, the clubs retained their separate identities but compete under the TITANS banner.

In his address to the membership, president of Sea Hawks Jason Wickham said he was pleased with club's performance in 2012. He congratulated the athletes for their achievements, especially the 13 who made national teams, and also awarded parents and supporters of the club for their contributions.

He also urged new leadership in the club to step forward since he declared his intention not to seek re-election whenever the next club election was held.

Coach Brian Wickham also hailed the club's achievements, and implored swimmers to step up their game in 2013.

Kyle Caracciolo did the Athlete's Response where he thanked the coaches, the executive and all parents for their hard work. Caracciolo, who made his first national team in 2012, was awarded the Most Dedicated and Most Disciplined Competitive Swimmer awards.

The club also specially recognised their three CISC individual medallists Theana Hay, Johnnya Ferdinand and Ramkissoon. Hay had the distinction of being this country's first 5,000m Open Water CISC gold medallist. Ferdinand also received the award for Most Promising Competitive Female.

The club's next event is its annual New Year Splash Swim Meet scheduled for Sunday at the Marlins Swim Pool in Westmoorings. This will be the first qualifier in 2013 for CARIFTA, CCCAN and the World Junior Championships.

Sea Hawks Honour Roll SET SWIM SOAR AWARD 2012 – Johnpaul Pedro Most Outstanding Individual Performance of the Year 2012 – Jonathan Ramkissoon Emerging Athlete of the Year 2012 - Johnpaul Pedro Athlete's Choice MVP – Kyle Caracciolo SHARON ACRES MEMORIAL AWARD FOR OITSTANDING VOLUNTEERISM - Verna Lewis PRE-COMPETITIVE AWARDS MOST DEDICATED - Josiah Changar MOST DEDICATED - Adrian Frecton MOST IMPROVED - Meadgan Garcia MOST DISCIPLINED - Kharisma Faustin MOST PROMISING - Renelle Harricharan BEST DRYLAND ATHLETE - Jabari Phillip COMPETITIVE AWARDS MOST DEDICATED - Kyle Caracciolo BEST DRYLAND ATHLETE - AromisLewis MOST DISCIPLINED - Kyle Caracciolo MOST PROMISING MALE - Jonathan Ramkissoon MOST PROMISING FEMALE- Johnnya Ferdinand HEART AWARD - Joshua Ramkissoon TEAM SPIRIT AWARD - Melina Marcano MOST IMPROVED MALE - Johann Ferdinand MOST IMPROVED FEMALE - Rochelle Jackson NATIONAL ATHLETES: Jessie Changar. Johann Ferdinand, Johnpaul Pedro, Johnnya Ferdinand, Joshua Ramkissoon, Theana Hay, Jonathan Ramkissoon, Simone Maundy, Shakeera Villaroel, Kyle Caracciolo, Marie Marcano, Kieranne Ramtahal, Vikash Ramtahal CORPORATE CHAMPIONS: Centre of Excellence & First Citizens VOLUNTEER AWARDS: Rachel Jackson, Neal Marcano, Maylene Pedro, Jeffrey Lewis, Kim Mallieau, Verna Lewis APPRECIATION AWARDS: Wendell Lai Hing, Vinod Ramlogan, Jennifer Lander, Wendy Maynard, Malcolm Boyce

Let us know your thoughts
This content requires the latest Adobe Flash Player and a browser with JavaScript enabled. Click here for a free download of the latest Adobe Flash Player.

Express Poll

Do you think the causeway from Chaguaramas to Port of Spain will be worth the cost to taxpayers?

  • Yes
  • No

Sports Headlines


More Weather