Sunday, February 25, 2018

Phillip to lead T&T in Grand Prix


Foreign cast: Top international cyclists from left to right, Daniel Martinez (Colombia), Darren Matthews (Barbados), Yoeri Havik (Holland), Jonathan Harding (PSL) Christian Kos (Holland), Lues Carlos Chja (Colombia), Steven Manuel Westa (Colombia) and (in the forefront) Luz Daniela Gaxiola Gonzalez (Mexico) will line up against top local cyclists when the Trinidad and Tobago Cycling Federation hosts the 2014 Easter International Grand Prix which begins today at the Arima Velodrome.

Mark Fraser

Njisane Phillip will lead the national senior men’s team when the Trinidad and Tobago Cycling Federation (TTCF) hosts the three day 2014 International Easter Grand Prix from today until Sunday. Racing starts 5 pm each day.

At a media conference held at the  Ministry of Sport headquarters on Abercromby Street, Port of Spain yesterday, TTCF president Rowena Williams announced the team led by captain Phillip that will also include Varun Maharajh, Barry Luces, Jude Codrington and brothers Joshua and Adam Alexander.

International cyclists are also expected from Colombia, Argentina, Barbados, Jamaica, Guyana and Mexico. 

At this year’s Grand Prix, which is the premier event on the T&T cycling calendar, the young cyclists and past greats will be the highlight. 

 Williams said at press conference: “Our theme this year is going for gold, we are looking at our junior cyclists and recognising their performances over the years. We will also pay tribute to our (T&T’s) past greats, Hilton ‘Barracuda’ Mitchell, Russell Parris, Glen Harvey, Kent Luces and Clinton Grant.” 

Williams stated the federation wants to encourage the young athletes to take up the mantle from the past exemplars and achieve greatness in the years to come.

At the Grand Prix, endurance riders will be given more attention. 

Williams said: “This year our international field is made up of endurance riders. Most times we spend time focusing on our sprinters. This year we are focusing on endurance, giving them more competition.” 

The 30-lap event will be the longest race on the schedule.

Ticket prices for each night will be $50 for adults and $10 for children 12 and under.