Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Pollard's Gladiators win BPL title


Trinidad and Tobago and West Indies big-hitter Kieron Pollard failed but his Dhaka Gladiators captured the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) title, beating Chittagong Kings by 43 runs in yesterday's final, at the Shere Bangla National Stadium.

The right-hander made just nine as Dhaka tallied 172 for nine in their 20 overs, after they were sent in

Captain Anamul Haque top-scored with 58 off 36 balls while Shakib Al Hasan struck 41 from 29 balls, in a third wicket stand of 47 off 31 balls.

Seamer Rubel Hossain was the best bowler with four for 44.

In reply, Chittagong were limited to 129 all out off 16.5 overs, with Mahmudullah striking 44 off 28 balls.

English seamer Alfonso Thomas finished with three for 19.

Chittagong's T&T allrounder Kevon Cooper was not picked for the championship match.