Thursday, February 22, 2018

Pooran steers Pres past champs Hillview


81 FOR ELDO: Shaquille McDavid

Mark Fraser

Presentation College Chaguanas announced themselves as real title contenders, yesterday, when they defeated defending PowerGen Secondary Schools Cricket League (SSCL) Premier Division champions Hillview College by three wickets in the third round of matches, at Presentation College Ground, in Chaguanas.

It was Presentation’s third straight victory this season and it came on the back of a good all-round performance from Kamil Pooran, who snatched three for 18 to help dismiss Hillview for 96 before slamming 50 as “Pres” replied with 97 for seven.

In other matches yesterday, Shaquille McDavid scored 81 for El Dorado East Secondary as they held on for a draw against Princes Town West Secondary.

Princes Town had made 282 for seven with Mike Smith hitting 59 before El Dorado frustrated proceedings, reaching 163 for nine when the overs ran out. Princes Town earned a winning draw.

Yesterday’s PowerGen SSCL Scores

Premier Division

Princes Town West Sec 282-7 (Mike Smith 59, Daniel Ramkissoon 49, Cephas Cooper 48, Negus Smith 34, Terrance 34; Kerron Simmons 2/21) vs El Dorado East Sec 163-9 (Shaquille McDavid 81, Shaquille Ruiz 23; C Mohammed 3/23, Peterson Francois 3/30)

—Match drawn

Barrackpore West Sec 113 (Jeron Maniram 47) vs Carapichaima East Sec 103

—Barrackpore won by ten runs

Naparima Boys College 173 (David Williams 61 n.o. Ariel Telesford 31; Brandon Sooklal 3/25, Keagan Simmons 3/34, Brian Christmas 2/17) vs Trinity College East 174-3 (Keagan Simmons 71 n.o., Saeed Mohammed 68, Sachin Seecharan 19 n.o.; Dominic Nandlal 1/28, Roberto Samia 1/35, Clevon Kalawan 1/42)

—Trinity East won by seven wickets 

Vishnu Boys Hindu College 162 (Kirstan Kallicharan 58, Amrit Sammy 18, Jarlanie Seales 18; Kelly Rosales 4/33, Anand Lochan 3/19) vs Fatima College 109 (Donovan Clayton 18, Kelly Rosales 15; Jarlanie Seales 4/19, Bryan Boodram 2/13, Shakeem Prince 2/16)

—Vishnu Boys won by 53 runs

Hillview College 96 (Amrish Rampersad 27; Kamil Pooran 3/18) vs Presentation College Chaguanas 97-7 (Kamil Pooran 50; Camillo Carimbocas 3/10, Nikolai Nyron 3/20)

—Pres won by three wickets

Championship Division 

Iere High School 119 (Renaldo Renalis 23, Amit Sankar 22; Raymond Fletcher 2/19) vs Preysal Sec 99 (Raymond Fletcher 42; Amit Sankar 3/12, Keyron Ramlal 2/28)

—Iere won by 20 runs

St Mary’s College 221 (Joshua Da Silva 63, Jonathan Greenidge 31, Jason Batson 26, Jamel Hunte 25; Lalchan Ramdath 3/18, Nicholas Ramkissoon 2/58) vs Cowen Hamilton Sec 127 (T Abdool 30, L Leotaud 22; Jason Batson 5/27, Jamel Hunte 2/18, Abhai Lal 2/25)

—St Mary’s won 94 runs

Shiva Boys’ Hindu College 211-9 (Ryan Lewis 38, Samuel Roopnarine 33; A Paharry 3/39, J Persad 3/37) vs Presentation College San Fernando 146 (S Rambaran 30; Samuel Roopnarine 3/22, Bhushan Maharaj 2/15, Varun Bhimsingh 2/13)

—Shiva Boys won by 45 runs