PowerGen back to defend ‘Sobers’ title

Trinidad and Tobago’s PowerGen Sports will start their Sir Garfield Sobers International Schools’ Cricket Tournament title against another T&T side, Queen’s Park Cricket, in the opening match of the 2014 competition in Barbados, tomorrow.
Sixteen teams are set to take part in this year’s tournament, now in its 28th year, and five of them are from T&T.
Combermere School were the losing finalists last year, going down by nine runs in a tense final at Kensington Oval. They will face the Lodge School in their opening match today at the Empire Ground.
Three schools will be making their debut this year, two from the UK and one from Canada. The two UK teams are from Wisbech School and St Ambrose School, while the Canadian team is from Oakville Academy.
Wisbech will face Barbados Under-19 champions Christ Church Foundation today at Crab Hill, while St Ambrose will face a rough baptism against Trinidad and Tobago’s Presentation College tomorrow at the James Bryan Complex. Oakville Academy will face BCL Juniors in their first match at Wanderers.
Named after the renowned Barbadian cricket legend and national hero, Sir Garfield Sobers, this annual tournament attracts school teams under 19 years of age to compete with their local, regional and international counterparts.

Zone A
Lodge School (Barbados)
Combermere School (Barbados)
Fatima College (Trinidad and Tobago)
Presentation College (Trinidad and Tobago)
Wisbech School (United Kingdom)
Christ Church Foundation School (Barbados)
St Ambrose School (United Kingdom)
Vishnu Boys’ Hindu College (Trinidad and Tobago)

Zone B
Powergen Penal Sports Club (T&T, defending
HL Foundation (Barbados)
Dominica Schools (Dominica)
BCL Juniors (Barbados)
Oakville Academy (Canada)
Queen’s Park Club (Trinidad and Tobago)
Electra Institute (Guyana)
Antigua Schools (Antigua)
Let us know your thoughts
This content requires the latest Adobe Flash Player and a browser with JavaScript enabled. Click here for a free download of the latest Adobe Flash Player.

Express Poll

Do you think the causeway from Chaguaramas to Port of Spain will be worth the cost to taxpayers?

  • Yes
  • No

Sports Headlines


More Weather