Wednesday, February 21, 2018

Ramnarine slate takes North

The incumbent Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board (TTCB) administration took another hit on Wednesday night, this time losing the North Zonal council club representatives’ elections to the Dinanath Ramnarine slate.

The Ramnarine-led group will be going up against the incumbent Movement for Change, led by current TTCB president Azim Bassarath, at next month’s TTCB elections.

On Wednesday night, the Ramnarine slate of candidates won all six club representatives positions up for grabs during North Zone club representatives’ elections.

The six elected club reps—Brigadier Carl Alfonso, Winston Sobers, Rommel Romiah, Stephen Samuels, Mahabir Ragoonanan and Andrew Hirst—will now move on to cast their votes at the North Zone Annual General Meeting (AGM), set for September 26, when the Zone will elect its executive—chairman, vice chairman, secretary and treasurer.

The three North Zone representatives who will vote at the TTCB AGM, which takes place on October 26, will also be selected at the North Zone AGM.

Speaking after the North Zone elections, Movement for Change executive member Patrick Rampersad said the incumbent administration is still in the fight.

“While the North Zone elections were very important, it was just the first phase of the election process. We still have the second phase which is the zonal AGM where the different units that comprise the zonal council will vote to elect its executive and three representatives for the TTCB AGM,” Rampersad explained.

According to Rampersad, at the zonal AGM, the six club representatives along with the four current executive members, two nominated members and two representatives each from secondary schools cricket, primary schools cricket and umpires will vote.

He noted that the outgoing zonal executive has always voted at zonal AGMs, and it has not been an issue in the past.

All zonal AGMs are due to be completed by September 30, with the TTCB AGM set for October 26.

North Zone Club Representatives’ Elections Results:

Winston Sobers—23

Brigadier Carl Alfonso—22

Mahabir Ragoonanan—22

Stephen Samuels—21

Rommel Romiah—20

Andrew Hirst—20

Don Asgarali—6

Stephen Martel—5

Zainool Shah—5

Elroy Wellington—4

Claude Philip—4

Paul Clarke—4