Thursday, January 18, 2018

Rampaul, Cooper, Badree released by IPL teams

 Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine and Chris Gayle were the only West Indies players to be retained by their respective Indian Premier League franchises ahead of the 2014 auction which takes place from February 12-13.

Bravo, the West Indies One-day International skipper, was one of five players retained by Chennai Super Kings, while mystery spinner Narine was one of just two kept by Kolkata Knight Riders.

Pollard was among five retained by Mumbai Indians while Gayle was one of only three that the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) decided to hold on to.

The T&T players who did not make the cut for their franchise’s retention lists were Rajasthan Royals all-rounder Kevon Cooper and leg-spinner Samuel Badree and RCB pacer Ravi Rampaul.

A number of other West Indians also failed to make the retention lists with Mumbai Indian all-rounder Dwayne Smith along with Sunrisers Hyderabad all-rounder Darren Sammy also missing out. 

Also failing to make the cut were Christopher Barnwell (RCB), Fidel Edwards (Rajasthan Royals), Andre Russell (Delhi Daredevils), and Jason Holder (Chennai Super Kings).

The rules for the 2014 auction allows each franchise to retain a maximum of five players, which would see its auction purse reduced proportionately and no more than four capped India players can be retained in each squad.

Teams will also get right-to-match cards to use at the auction, depending on how many players they retain. The right-to-match card allows IPL franchises to buy back a specific number of players they have released for the auction, by matching the highest bid those players attract.

If they match the bid, they win the player.