Thursday, January 18, 2018

Reesal named age group MVP at Preysal school


SKIPPER AND GRADUATES: Trinidad and Tobago cricket captain Denesh Ramdin, centre back row, poses with the special awardees of the Digicel Preysal Cricket School at the School's graduation ceremony at Preysal Community Centre on Sunday. —Photo: ROGER SEEPERSAD

(BI) Feedloader User

Digicel Preysal Cricket School standout, Emrith Reesal, who is tipped to join the Preysal Reserve team for the 2013 cricket season, was named Most Valuable Player (MVP) in the 13-15 age group at the school's recently-concluded session.

Reesal, who was also named Most Disciplined Player in his category, was among 75 young cricketers receiving certificates of participation during the schools' graduation ceremony, held at Preysal Community Centre on Sunday.

Joshua Bankay was MVP in the 10-12 age group, while Aaron Bankay (8-10 age group) was the other MVP.

The Cricket School, which has been in existence for over ten years, has played a part in the careers of many players who have gone on to represent Trinidad and Tobago and West Indies, including Lendl Simmons, Ravi Rampaul, William Perkins and Denesh Ramdin.

Ramdin returned to the school on Sunday to offer some words of advice to the graduates of the 2012 class and also presented certificates and special awards to the participants. The West Indies wicket-keeper told the gathering of parents and cricketers that he grew up in Preysal and had passed through the Cricket School before playing for the club. Ramdin, who is also T&T cricket captain, said he is always keen to give back to the community that played a part in his development.

Ramdin said he was also pleased to see girls taking part in the School, noting that women's cricket has been growing over the years, with ICC having Women's World Cup and other major tournaments for women.

According to Preysal CEO/secretary Camal Basdeo, the Cricket School has been growing steadily over the last few years with 2012 having the most registered participants—99.

The camp, which ran from October 5 to December 15, catered for children, boys and girls between ages 7-15 and had six coaches working with the children. The programme was headed by former Canada World Cup player Ishwar Maraj, who served as head coach.

Maraj said the programme had practical exercises, as well as theoretical exercises where the participants went through different scenarios.

The other coaches in the programme were Prakash Sookhai, Gerald Garcia, Robert Mahabir, Eshwar Rampersad and Eldon Ramadeen.

Preysal Clinic Honour Roll

Group 1 (Age 7-9)

Best Batsman—Aaron Bankay

Best Bowler—Dillon Balkaran

Best Fieldsman—Keron Rampersad

MVP—Aaron Bankay

Group 2 (Age 10-12)

Best Batsman—Jeremiah Kalloo

Best Bowler— Veroon Roopnarine

Best Fieldsman—Darin Gajramsingh

Best Wicketkeeper—Neishal Harrilal

MVP—Joshua Bankay

Group 3 (Age 13-15)

Best Batsman—Joshua Roopan

Best Bowler—Rajeev Parmesar

Best Feildsman—Derome Reece Neaves

Best Wicketkeeper—Akeem Fletcher

Most Disciplined—Emrith Reesal

MVP—Emrith Reesal