Friday, February 23, 2018

Roopnarine, Spicer bid to repeat

Scotiabank Schools Tournament


BOYS' OPEN CHAMPION: Arun Roopnarine

(BI) Feedloader User

Last year, at the same venue, Roopnarine claimed the boys' open title with a straight games dismissal of Orell Cooper.

Roopnarine also guided his school, Presentation College San Fernando to the boys' open team title. In the final, Pres defeated Cooper's Pentecostal Light and Life 3-1.

The other team titles were won by Lakshmi Girls High School (girls' open), ASJA Boys (boys' under-15), and Naparima Girls (girls' under-15).

Naparima's Spicer topped a five-player round robin in 2011 to emerge as girls' open singles champion.

Also defending their singles titles on the weekend will be Aaron Wilson and Brittany Joseph.

Wilson, a pupil at St James Secondary at the time, got the better of Sarvesh Mungal in last year's boys' under-15 final. Wilson, who is now attending Belmont Boys' Secondary, should have no problems repeating.

Joseph is also expected to complete back-to-back under-15 successes. The Bishop Anstey High School East pupil was dominant in 2011, whipping Artienea Gregoire 11-7, 11-4, 11-2 in the championship match.

ASJA's Amresh Mungal was crowned boys' under-13 champion last year, while the girls' under-13 title went to Gyshan Latchman, of St Joseph's Convent, Port of Spain.

Tobago school, St Andrew's Anglican Primary swept the under-10 titles, Jakeem Welch taking the first prize among the boys and Jasher De Gannes topping the girls' field.

The under-10 division has been changed to under-11 for the 2012 edition of the Scotiabank-sponsored tournament.

The under-13 and under-11 singles titles will be decided in Tobago next Saturday, November 17.

Eight Trinidad qualifiers in each of the four categories will be determined at CRISA this weekend.

All the team and doubles events will be contested tomorrow, while the open and under-15 singles champions will be crowned on Sunday.

First serve at CRISA on both days is at 9.30 a.m.