Sunday, February 25, 2018

Rugby rules at Harvard awards night

Harvard Sports Club celebrated in style at their recent annual awards ceremony following a good year for the club.

Standing tallest amongst the disciplines in which Harvard competes was rugby, which enjoyed by far its most successful year as the team bagged seven of eight titles in competition this year, with a runners-up finish in their final outing, the Carib Tobago International Sevens tournament being the only blemish.

This success was reflected at the awards ceremony two weekends ago, as the Harvard rugby team was named Most Outstanding (sporting) Discipline, and was presented with another award for its outstanding form by the hockey team, Maritime Harvard Checkers.

It was no surprise then that winger Claudius Butts, a crucial cog in Harvard's successful 2012 T&T Rugby Football Union (TTRFU) League Toyota Championship Division and rugby sevens campaigns, was named Sports Personality of the Year.

Harvard rugby coach Larry Mendez, who also heads the national rugby technical team, rounded out the special awards sweep as Member of the Year.

Butts was also Most Disciplined Player in the Championship Division, but the Most Valuable Player honour went to flanker Wayne Kelly.

The guest list at the function read like a who's who of sports personalities, with Harvard president Brigadier General Carl Alphonso, accompanied by former T&T Football Federation (TTFF) president and Harvard patron Oliver Camps, Memphis Pioneers head coach Dr Ian Hypolite and T&T Cricket Board North Zone Cricket Council president Don Asgarali in attendance.

Also on the list were ex-T&T Olympic Committee president and current T&T Hockey Board (TTHB) president Douglas Camacho and TTRFU president Leslie Figaro.

Honour Roll:


Most Outstanding Batsman Marc Hospedales

Most Outstanding Bowler Stephen Kadoo

Cricketer of the Year Marc Hospedales


Special Award Wade Charles

Hockey (Junior)

Most Goals Michaella Jones

Most Improved Player Charnise Cato

Junior Player of the Year Brittney Hingh

Hockey (Senior)

Most Goals Mindy Charles

Most Disciplined Player Kwylan Jaggassar

Senior Player of the Year Christabella George-Ford

Rugby (Under 17)

Most Improved Player Shaquille Lucas

Most Disciplined Player Brandon Greenidge

Rookie of the Year Curtley Bateau

Most Valuable Player Shakeel Dyte

Rugby (Senior)

Most Improved Player Cloyd London

Most Disciplined Player Thabiti Benjamin

Rookie of the Year Corey Phillips

Most Valuable Player Joseph Quashie

Rugby (Championship)

Most Disciplined Player Claudius Butts

Rookie of the Year Corey Phillips

Most Valuable Player Wayne Kelly

Most Improved Player Aaron Rocke

Special Awards

Harvard Club Rugby team

Most Outstanding Discipline Trophy Harvard Club Rugby Team

Sports Personality of the Year Claudius Butts

Member of the Year Larry Mendez