Monday, February 19, 2018

SSCL to hold AGM on Monday

 The build-up to the Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board (TTCB) elections, which will take place at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) on October 26, will continue on Monday when the Secondary Schools Cricket League (SSCL) meet to elect their executive.

The current SSCL executive, led by president Sonnylal Sookoo of Siparia West Secondary, are supporters of the incumbent Azim Bassarath-led TTCB administration, and are confident they have done enough to earn another term in charge of secondary schools cricket.

Sookoo will be challenged by Surujdath Mahabir of Carapichaima East Secondary for the SSCL presidency, while Anastasia Griffith of Tranquillity Secondary and Sharaz Mohammed of Barataria South Secondary will be contesting the post of first vice president.

The position of second vice president will be contested by Shane Lutchman of Shiva Boys Hindu College and Amin Forgenie of St Benedict’s College.

The other executive officers will be unopposed.

Germaine Gray from Barrackpore West Secondary will return as general secretary, with Nigel Maraj from El Dorado East Secondary as first assistant secretary, Dudnath Nagessar of Gasparillo Composite as second assistant secretary, Wesley Dookhoo from Preysal Secondary as treasurer and Ravindra Ramnanan from Princes Town East Secondary as public relations officer.

The SSCL president and general secretary will vote at the TTCB AGM.

The SSCL AGM starts at 9 a.m. and over 100 schools are expected to cast their vote.