Saturday, February 24, 2018

Sarwan, Chanders in Guyana squad for Caribbean T20

After some uncertainty and a bit of controversy, the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) have finally named a squad to take part in the Caribbean Twenty20 in January.

West Indies spinner Veerasammy Permaul will lead the Guyana contingent, with Christopher Barnwell as his deputy.

Also included in the Guyana team are West Indies players Ramnaresh Sarwan, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Narsingh Deonarine and Devendra Bishoo.

Added to those experienced players are exciting youngsters Trevon Griffith and Steven Jacobs, who have both built up reputations for themselves playing in the Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board (TTCB) Premiership T20 competition over the last two seasons.

The Guyana 14-man squad, which was selected following a series of trial matches last week, was accepted by the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) earlier this week.

This is after Guyana's participation in the January 6-20 tournament in Trinidad and St Lucia was put in doubt when the GCB failed to submit their team list for the competition by the November 22nd deadline date.

When Guyana did not submit a squad, the WICB directors instructed the Board's management to make another request to the GCB to provide a Guyana team, and to set today's date as the new deadline.

Explaining why the GCB failed to submit a squad by November 22nd, GCB secretary Anand Sanasie said that the GCB were being cautious and were seeking legal advice because of the ongoing conflict between the GCB and the Guyana government, which began in December last year when the latter dissolved the GCB due to a dispute over its July 2011 elections.

Guyana's sports minister Dr Frank Anthony appointed an Interim Management Committee (IMC) headed by ex-West Indies captain Clive Lloyd to run cricket in Guyana. But the WICB maintained its position that it recognises the GCB as the sole governing body responsible for the administration, management and development of cricket in Guyana.

Guyana T20 Squad— Veerasammy Permaul (captain), Christopher Barnwell (vice captain), Ronsford Beaton, Devendra Bishoo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Derwin Christian, Royston Crandon, Narsingh Deonarine, Jonathan Foo, Trevon Griffith, Steven Jacobs, Leon Johnson, Rajiv Ivan, Ramnaresh Sarwan.