Thursday, January 18, 2018

Solomon leads 400 qualifiers

NGC/Sagicor Open Championships



Mark Fraser

Jarrin Solomon led all qualifiers into today’s men’s 400 metres final with an impressive run on the opening day of the NGC/Sagicor Open Track & Field Championships, at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain, yesterday.

Solomon dominated his heat four rivals, the Olympic 4x400m bronze medallist completing his lap of the track in 46.13 seconds for a huge margin of victory on second-placed Ohdel James (48.68).

Carlyle Roudette also enjoyed a comfortable triumph, winning heat three in 46.93 seconds, ahead of Breon Mullings (47.90) and Akil Franklyn (48.77).

Renny Quow was the class of the heat one field, the 2009 World Championship bronze medallist getting home in 47.16 seconds. And in heat five, Olympic bronze medallist Lalonde Gordon won in 47.48.

Reigning national champion Deon Lendore was a non-starter in heat six. In Lendore’s absence, Dominica’s Ericson Hurtault triumphed in 47.24 seconds, beating Zwede Hewitt (47.48) into second spot.

The fastest junior in the world this year, Machel Cedenio (45.23) opted out of heat two, clearing the way for Jereem Richards to win in 48 seconds flat.

Janeil Bellille was the fastest athlete on show in the women’s 400m qualifying round. The Neon Trackers athlete was a comfortable winner of the third and final heat, stopping the clock at 52.63 seconds. Shawna Fermin was second in 53.59, securing the other automatic qualifying berth on offer in heat three.

Allison Peter was second fastest in the preliminaries, winning heat two in 53.22 seconds. However, as a non-T&T national, the United States Virgin Islands (USVI) athlete is not eligible to compete in today’s championship race. Instead, Peter will do battle in the “B” final.

Domonique Williams finished second to Peter in heat two in 53.70 seconds, and will run in lane three in the “A” final.

Bellille and Fermin have been drawn in lanes four and five, respectively, while heat one winner Romona Modeste will make her bid for one-lap honours from lane six.

Modeste clocked 54.39 seconds to top the opening heat, forcing Marissa Gale to settle for the runner-up spot in 55.04.

Late yesterday, Michelle-Lee Ahye underlined her status as women’s 100m favourite with victory in heat two in 11.13 seconds—the fastest time in the qualifying round. She will run in the second semi-final, today.

And in the men’s 100m, defending champion Keston Bledman topped heat one in 10.46 seconds. Rondel Sorrillo (10.40), Richard “Torpedo” Thompson (10.44), Darrel Brown (10.42) and Marc Burns (10.48) were heat winners as well.

The Championships continue from two o’clock this afternoon, at the Crawford Stadium.




Men’s hammer throw

1 Gabriel Guerra (Toco TAFAC) 20.09 metres

2 Kiel McNeil (Toco TAFAC) 16.39m

3 John Andalcio (Toco TAFAC) 11.79m


Women’s hammer throw

1 Tamara Louis (Toco TAFAC) 29.89m

2 Adojoa Springer (Toco TAFAC) 17.05m