Rewarded: CLICO Preysal skipper Videsh Sookhai, left, receives the Cricketer of the Year trophy from vice-chairman Manzur Baksh, centre, while CLICO representative Wendell Noel, right, looks on during the club’s end of season award ceremony at Inshan Ali Park, Preysal on Thursday night.


Sookhai is Preysal Cricketer of Year

By Roger Seepersad

Former Trinidad and Tobago Under-19 all-rounder Videsh Sookhai was named the CLICO Preysal cricketer of the year following a successful 2013 season at the helm of the club. Sookhai received the award at the club’s prize-giving function at Inshan Ali Park, Preysal on Thursday.

This season, he led Preysal to victory in the North Central Championship Division to earn promotion to the Premier Division next season. Sookhai, who was part of the T&T Under-19 squad that won the 2010 TCL West Indies Under-19 limited overs competition, scored 306 runs and took 35 wickets in the Championship to help the Central club clinch the title with a game to spare.

He also scored 234 runs and snatched 19 wickets in limited overs competition this year.

Other top performers this season include Anthony Adams who finished the season with the most wickets—56—to cop the best bowler trophy. 

Vedesh Maraj scored 379 runs with a high score of 87 to emerge as the best batsman. 

Preysal are also continuing their rich tradition of developing young talent with the club’s vice-chairman Manzur Baksh praising his team of youngsters for winning the Championship and earning their place back in the Premier Division.

Baksh said there were many stumbling periods in the history of the club and that last year was one of those periods.

Last year, Preysal were demoted from the Premier Division and subsequently lost some of their senior players to other Premier Division clubs.

“You must move forward,” he told the gathering which also included former West Indies and Trinidad and Tobago off-spinner and member of the club, Rangy Nanan, who is recovering well from a stroke he suffered last April.

Baksh said Preysal had one of the youngest teams in the competition and commended the players for their outstanding performances and for their commitment to the community-based club which is celebrating its 60th anniversary this year.

One such individual was 14-year-old Saiba Batoosingh who was the youngest player to take the field for the club this season. Other youngsters in the club included all-rounders Byran Charles, Justin Joseph and Philton Williams. 

Batoosingh, who is also the captain of the Central Zone Under-15 squad, was named the Preysal’s emerging player of the year after juggling his school work to play six matches in the season, scoring 107 runs with a high score of 47.

A CLICO representative was also present at the function through Unit Manager of the Rushworth Street Branch, Wendell Noel, who told young team that they are now part of the history and legacy of the club.

“History is a chronicle of the events of the lives of men. One of the important things about history is that it is being read and written at the same time.

“What is significant is the contribution being made by you. You are writing into the history of CLICO Preysal, into the history of Trinidad and Tobago and into the history of the West Indies. Do not take lightly your contribution,” he told the gathering.

Noel also reaffirmed CLICO’s commitment to the club saying: “CLICO seeks to embody a set of virtues and values that lead to success and the greater good of the community, the nation and the region. Those values are values we find in Preysal so we are particularly pleased to be partners with Preysal.

“CLICO is committed to Preysal and we are committed to going forward with you.”

The club also has big plans to continue to develop future players. 

Chairman Tony Harford said if everything goes smoothly, the club should be getting a new indoor centre before the start of the 2014 season which will allow head coach Junior Joseph to have more training sessions and to give youngsters more individual attention. 

CLICO Preysal Honour Roll

Cricketer of the Year

Videsh Sookhai


Five Cricketers of the Year

Vedesh Maraj

Anthony Adams

Videsh Sookhai

Eugene La Fleur

Philton Williams


Best Batsman

Vedesh Maraj—379 runs


Best Bowler

Anthony Adams—56 wickets




Best Fieldsman

Philton Williams


Emerging Player of the Year

Saiba Batoosingh


Special Awards

Keeon Celestine

Qadir Shah


Let us know your thoughts
This content requires the latest Adobe Flash Player and a browser with JavaScript enabled. Click here for a free download of the latest Adobe Flash Player.

Express Poll

Do you think Trinidad and Tobago is prepared for a major earthquake?

  • Yes
  • No

Sports Headlines


More Weather