Tuesday, January 16, 2018

South West declares support for ‘Dinas’

Ramesh Dharamdeo was elected unopposed as the new chairman of the Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board (TTCB) South West Zonal council after the zone held their AGM on Monday night.

Dharamdeo, who previously served as secretary of the zone, took over from previous chairman Baldath Bodoe, who did not contest the post.

The other zonal executives were also elected unopposed, with Vijay Ramlal taking the vice chairman post, Kyle Phillip being elected as secretary and Ash Sinanan serving as treasurer.

The three representatives to the TTCB for the Boards AGM next month are Dharamdeo, Phillip and Sinanan.

Dharamdeo also became the first zonal chairman to come out in support of Dinanath Ramnarine’s bid to unseat the incumbent TTCB administration—the Movement for Change—led by current TTCB president Azim Bassarath.

Yesterday, the newly-elected South West chairman said: “We are pledging our support to Dinanath Ramnarine to be the next Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board president.

“We are seeing that “Dinas” and his team can take cricket in Trinidad to a higher level. We see that youth and eagerness and passion that we really need in cricket and their focus will definitely be to take cricket to a higher level and bring equity and fairness at all levels,” Dharamdeo added.

Dharamdeo, along with Phillip and Sinanan, will now vote on behalf of the South West Zone at the TTCB elections to be on October 26 at the Board’s AGM.

So far Ramnarine has won the majority of support from the clubs, with his slate of candidates sweeping the National League club representatives elections as well as winning zonal club representatives elections in the North, South and South West zones.

The South Zone will hold its AGM today and all zonal AGMs are due to be completed by Monday.

South West AGM Results

Chairman—Ramesh Dharamdeo (Unopposed)

Vice Chairman—Vijay Ramlal (Unopposed)

Secretary—Kyle Phillip (Unopposed)

Treasurer—Ash Sinanan (Unopposed)

Three representatives to the TTCB

Ramesh Dharamdeo

Kyle Phillip

Ash Sinanan

Alternate Representatives to the TTCB

Vijay Ramlal

Wilson James