South backs Ramnarine

By Roger Seepersad

New ideas and a new direction.

That is what the Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board (TTCB) South Zone officials are hoping for as they align themselves with Dinanath Ramnarine in his bid to become the next TTCB president.

The South Zone held its Annual General Meeting (AGM) yesterday, electing three new members to its executive. The only returning zonal executive member is Leo Doodnath who was elected as chairman for another term.

The new executive members are Ramdeo Ramtahal, who will serve as vice chairman, secretary Elvis Ramdeo, and treasurer Stephen Ramkissoon.

All members of the South Zone executive were elected unopposed.

The three representatives that will vote at the TTCB AGM on October 26 are Chitram Ramjitsingh, Ramkissoon and Ramtahal.

Speaking to the Express yesterday, Ramjitsingh confirmed that the South Zone will be supporting Ramnarine and his running mate Daren Ganga at next month’s TTCB AGM, when the Board will elect its executive which will serve for the next three years.

Ramnarine and Ganga will take on the incumbent TTCB administration, the Movement for Change, led by current TTCB president Azim Bassarath.

“We will give our full support for Dinanath Ramnarine,” Ramjitsingh declared.

“I am of the firm belief that if we give this current board one more term, cricket would collapse. Being part of the South Zone, I can tell you that there is absolutely nothing taking place to develop cricket in the South, and that is why we picked a new team to take cricket in the zone in a new direction,” he explained.

“We wanted to get some new ideas and we feel that Dinanath Ramnarine and Daren Ganga will have some good ideas and plans to make sure cricket at the zonal level and the national level will be improved,” Ramjitsingh added.

The North East Zone also held its AGM recently. The incumbent executive was returned, Arjoon Ramlal getting another term as North East chairman.

The North East officials are likely to support the incumbent administration, with Ramlal being part of the current executive as TTCB general secretary. 


Zonal AGM Elections

South Zone 
Leo Doodnath—Chairman
Ramdeo Ramtahal—Vice Chairman
Elvis Ramdeo—Secretary
Stephen Ramkissoon--Treasurer
Representatives to the TTCB
Chitram Ramjitsingh
Stephen Ramkissoon
Ramdeo Ramtahal
Alternative Representatives to the TTCB
Elvis Ramdeo
Sunil Singh
North East Zone
Arjoon Ramlal—Chairman
Bhagwandass Ramlogan—Vice Chairman
John Lewis—Secretary
Mitra Ragoonanan—Treasurer
Representatives to TTCB
Mitra Ragoonanan
Bhagwandass Ramlogan
Kelvin Kanhai
Let us know your thoughts
This content requires the latest Adobe Flash Player and a browser with JavaScript enabled. Click here for a free download of the latest Adobe Flash Player.

Express Poll

Do you agree that the Acting Commissioner of Police and the three Deputy Commissioners should apologise to the nation for the 'day of total policing' fiasco?

  • Yes
  • No

Sports Headlines


More Weather