Saturday, February 17, 2018

Spice Girls are TTWCA T20 champs

Spice Girls are the new Trinidad and Tobago Women’s Cricket Association (TTWCA) Premiership T20 champions after a four-wicket win over Technocrats at Honeymoon Park, El Dorado, in a nail-biting encounter.

Spice Girls reached their victory target of 93 runs for six wickets with three balls to spare, having restricted Technocrats to 92 for nine.

Batting first, Technocrats laboured to their total on the back of West Indies bat Deandra Dottin, who top-scored with 29. Alice Collins took three wickets for Spice Girls, while Ann-Marie McEwen added two for 21.

Vanessa Watts led the way with 30 for Spice Girls, who edged home despite a miserly two wickets from Technocrats’ Gaitri Seetahal.

Technocrats got into the final by defeating defending champions Phoenix Women by 62 runs in yesterday’s semi-final at the same venue, while Spice Girls booked their spot by a recent upset of previously unbeaten Moosai Ladies, who for the second year running had to settle for the League/Knockout double.

Hibiscus Ladies are the Championship T20 winners, having defeated Achievers Women in a rain-shortened match at Dinsley.