Sunday, February 25, 2018

T&T destroys Guyana to Win Third Straight Title

Red Fury

SIMPLY THE BEST: Trinidad and Tobago's "Red Force" celebrates their third successive Caribbean T20 title.

Donstan Bonn

THE Congress of the People has congratulated the Trinidad and Tobago T-20 cricket team, crowned Caribbean T-20 Cricket Champions last night in St Lucia for the third successive year,

their fourth title overall.

They team defeated Guyana at the Beausejour Stadium, St Lucia by nine wickets.

Final scores - Guyana 116 for 6, Trinidad and Tobago 120 for 1.


The team played unbeaten throughout the tournament, the final edition, which began on January 6.

The COP stated in a press release " It was a pleasure to see our international T-20 stars, Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Bravo and Sunil Narine giving their best in spite of having a hectic international schedule this year. The local boys played consistently as a team rather than individuals and commentators noted that T&T was the most balanced team in the tournament. There is much that all citizens can emulate in our respective field of endeavour. Congratulations also to captain Denesh Ramdin, coach David Williams, Manager Omar Khan and the rest of the support team in preparing the boys".

The Caribbean T-20 tournament will now be replaced by a new Premier League  in which franchises will be awarded to local and foreign businesses.

The COP stated "This will provide our regional cricketers the opportunity to use cricket as a lucrative profession and excellent ambassadors of our country. They will also be closer to their families, a vital aspect of their social life as evident by the many wives,children and other loved ones who were present at the victory presentation last night. Additionally the International players in the league bring a golden opportunity to effectively launch sports tourism in T&T and the rest of the Caribbean".

T&T team will compete in the Championship League tournament in India later this year.