Thursday, February 22, 2018

T&T face South Africa in Commonwealth Sevens

 The Trinidad and Tobago men’s Rugby Sevens team will come up against South Africa, Kenya and Cook Islands in the Group stage at this year’s Commonwealth Games after being drawn in Pool B.

The Pools were confirmed yesterday and will see 16 teams vying for the gold medal at the Games, which will be held in Glasgow, Scotland in July/August.

The other participating teams are defending champions New Zealand, Australia, Canada, England, Malaysia, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Scotland, Sri Lanka, Uganda and Wales.

New Zealand, who have won all four Commonwealth gold medals to date, have been drawn in Pool A, alongside Canada, Nigeria and tournament hosts, Scotland. 

Australia, who were silver medallists at the previous Commonwealth Games in Delhi, India in 2010, are the top seeds in Pool D, while South Africa are the top seeds in Pool B.

Commonwealth Games 

Rugby Sevens Pools

Pool A— New Zealand, Canada, Scotland, Nigeria

Pool B— South Africa, Kenya, Cook 

Islands, Trinidad and Tobago

Pool C— Samoa, Wales, Papua New Guinea, Malaysia

Pool D— England, Australia, Sri Lanka, Uganda