Sunday, February 25, 2018

TTFA to expand Super League

Demoted clubs to get reprieve

 The National Super League is to be expanded. 

This decision was made at the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association’s executive committee meeting on Friday. As a result, the 13 clubs that participated in the last edition of the bmobile-sponsored National Super League will be invited to participate in an expanded Super League in 2014. 

In addition, the top three clubs promoted after the qualifying competition in 2014 will be invited to participate in the expanded Super League in 2014. They are:  La Horquetta Soccer Academy, Petrotrin Palo Seco and D’Lime Bar Goal City. 

The executive committee’s decision also means that Joe Public FC, FC Santa Rosa and T&T Defence Force who would have been relegated to the National Super League qualifying series (formerly Champion of Champions) will now remain in the Super League. 

 The TTFA ruling means that the Super League will have 16 teams in total should all the clubs agree to be part of the Super League. 

Clubs have been given a deadline of Friday April 25 to respond to the invitation to be part of the expanded league.