Sunday, December 17, 2017

Tableland try for spot in Sunday League final



Mark Fraser

Jenexcon Tableland’s first season in the Premier Division Sunday League 50 over competition has been impressive so far as they topped their qualifying group before beating Seenath’s Auto Bamboo Sports to reach the semi-finals of the competition.

They have another opportunity to turn a few heads this afternoon as they tackle First Citizens Clarke Road in the second semi at Syne Village in Penal bowling off at 2.30 p.m. to see who will face the winners of yesterday’s first semi-final between 2013 winners Queen’s Park Cricket Cub and runners-up PowerGen Sports.

Clarke Road know how dangerous the Tableland side can be after losing to them in the group stage of the competition earlier this season.

But the Clarke Road side can also be a handful, and with the return of West Indies Under-19 wicketkeeper Nicholas Pooran, they will be even more threatening.

Clarke Road are chasing their first Sunday League crown in over a decade and coach Dasrath Maharaj says that once his young team plays to its full potential, they should be able to come out on top.

The young side also includes Pooran’s West Indies Under-19 teammate pacer Ray Jordan as well as former West Indies Under-19 all-rounders Yannick Ottley and Derone Davis and current T&T Under-19 prospective fast bowler Shane Smith.

Maharaj said: “We have a strong bowling attack and we have a lot of depth to our batting and the inclusion Pooran and Jordan should strengthen the team in both departments.”

Their opponents will have the services of T&T opener Evin Lewis and aggressive batsmen William Perkins as well as USA player Steven Taylor.

Tableland are confident heading into the semi and manager Anthony Boody says they will be looking for some big performances from their national players Lewis and Perkins.

He said they have a good mix of youth and experience and that once their players perform to expectations, Clarke Road can expect a really competitive game.


First Citizens Clarke Road: Sean Siloch (captain), Adrian Ali (vice-captain), Ranga Lachana, Ryan Ramdass, Nicholas Pooran, Yannick Ottley, Ray Jordan, Derone Davis, Kissoondath Magram, Mukesh Persad, Shane Smith, Samuel Roopnarine, Clevon Kalawan, Dominic Seepersad.

Jenexcon Tableland: Lincoln Roberts (captain), Brent Harriot (vice-captain), Evin Lewis, William Perkins, Daniel St Clair, Kenton Thompson, Al Small, Negus Carthy, Darryl Williams, Keegan Roy, Steven Taylor, Keaton Mahabir, Nicoes Rajkumar, Jerve Cummings Joshua Alleyne.