Technocrats are champs again

By Shammi Kowlessar

TECHNOCRATS retained their crown in the Caribbean Volleyball League at the Jean Pierre Complex, Port of Spain, last Sunday.
The title favourites, led by national players Sean Morrison and Kevin Nimrod, while also containing overseas players like Elvis Contreras and Jose Caceras of Puerto Rico, Barbadian Dale Addison and Ricardo Chong of Jamaica, defeated Zenith 25-20, 25-17, 25-19 in the final.
The Zenith outfit, which included Brazilians Vinicius Baigan and Matthew Roham, Latvian Valters Ramma and Aaron Almario and Matthew Talamantes of the United States, had gotten the better of Big SEPoS (South East Port of Spain) 23-25, 25-18, 26-28, 25-17, 15-19 the night before, while Technocrats had taken down Defence Force 25-23, 25-21, 25-17 in the other semifinal.
SEPoS, featuring the likes of national skipper Nolan Tash and fellow national players Akim Bushe, Darnell David, Jessel Davis , Brandon Legall and Barbadian Alain London, placed third for the second straight time when they got the better of Defence Force, made up of Germany’s Markus Achulze and national players Saleem Ali and the France-based Ryan Stewart, 27-25, 22-25, 25-23, 25-23.
This was the third edition of the tournament and the first time that it did not include a women’s event. Glamorgan, forced to settle for fourth place last year after being the inaugural men’s champs in 2012, did not compete this year.
Let us know your thoughts
This content requires the latest Adobe Flash Player and a browser with JavaScript enabled. Click here for a free download of the latest Adobe Flash Player.

Express Poll

Do you think Trinidad and Tobago is prepared for a major earthquake?

  • Yes
  • No

Sports Headlines


More Weather