Saturday, February 17, 2018

Tight race in Championship Divisions

 Hafeez Karamath Limited (HKL) Aranjuez Sports and Police Sports played to a draw in the previous round of the East North-East Championship Division leaving the title race wide open heading into the penultimate round this weekend.

HKL Aranjuez maintained their place at the top of the standings with 155 points, 13 better than second placed Prison (142), and will face eighth place UWI Cricket Club in St Augustine (60 points) in round nine starting at 10 a.m. today and continuing tomorrow from 9.30 a.m.

Meanwhile, Prison face third placed EYM (93 points) in El Socorro needing a win to keep the pressure on the leaders.

In the South Championship, leaders Victoria United (153 points) take on second placed Rahamut’s Evergreen (141 points) in a top-of-the-table clash at Barrackpore West Secondary, while third placed PowerGen 2 (121 points) are in action against fourth placed F&E Diamond United at Diamond Ground in South Trinidad.

There is also a close race for the North-Central title with QPCC 2 (146 points) leading second placed Esperanza Sports (141 points) by just five points.

QPCC 2 are in action against Police at Queen’s Park Oval, Port of Spain while Esperanza host Felicity Sports.

Esperanza will face QPCC 2 in what will be the title decider in the final round of matches next weekend.


Championship Division Round 8 fixtures


May 10-11

(All matches bowl off at 10 a.m. today and continue from 9:30 a.m. tomorrow)


East North-East 

UTT vs Cunaripo Sports, O'Meara

EYM vs T&T Prison Sports, El Socorro 

Young Defenders vs Agents, Young Defenders Ground

UWI Cricket Club vs HKL Aranjuez Sports, UWI

Fulham Sports vs Barataria Ball Players, Fulham Ground


North Central

Calcutta Sports vs Aronco Couva Sports, Calcutta Ground

Esperanza Sports vs Felicity Sports, Esperanza Ground

Central Sports vs Harvard, Central Sports

QPCC 2 vs T&T Police Sports, Queen's Park Oval



F&E Diamond United vs PowerGen 2, Diamond Ground

Victoria vs Rahamut's Evergreen, Barrackpore West Secondary Ground

Rousillac United vs Point Fortin CC, Rousillac Ground

Valiants Sports vs Clarke Rochard, St Benedict's Ground

Valley Boys vs Yorkshire Club, Valley Boys Ground