Trestrail in two ‘Catch’ semis

By Shammi Kowlessar

EMMA ROSE TRESTRAIL won quarter-final matches in two divisions yesterday when the Catch National Junior Tennis Championships continued at Eddie Taylor Public Courts, King George V Park, St Clair.

The left-hander, who sat on the sidelines in last year’s edition with injury as her arch rival Emma Davis went on to capture both the Under-14 and 16 crowns, ousted Carissa Rudolfo 6-0, 6-4 in the Under-18 division and only allowed Cheyenne Chin Chow one game in the Under-16 category.

Trestrail is favoured to win the Under-18 title with the late withdrawal of Tobagonian Kezia Koroma, the runner-up in last year’s National Championships.

She comes up against Shardelle Jackman and Juliet Campbell faces Sherise Arjoon when the semifinals are contested today.

Trestrail is the second seed in the Under-16 category, behind defending champ Emma Davis, who is also seeded to retain her Under-16 crown.

Nabeel Mohammed is seeded to win both the boys Under-16 and 18 titles after completing this double last year.

The Tranquillity Open quarter-finalist began the defence of his Under-16 crown in sparkling fashion yesterday as Liu Chin was only able to win one game.

Second seed Scott Hackshaw, who is also seeded to retain his Under-14 crown, booked his place in today’s quarters with a 6-0, 7-6 (7/2) victory over Tobagonian Kobe James.

The tournament continues on a daily basis until Thursday and first serve today is 9 a.m.

Yesterday’s selected results: Boys’ Under-12 quarters -- K. George bt M. Antonie 4-0, 4-0; N. Valdez bt N. Gregoire 4-1, 4-2; E. Nwokolo bt L. Sheppard 4-2, 5-3.

Boys’ U-16 (2nd round): T. Davis bt J. Edwards 6-3, 6 -3; C. Singh bt K. Hamid 6-1, 6-1; S. Ellatwy bt Kriston Anthony 7-6 (7/5), 6-2; R. Thomas bt C. Andrews 6-0, 6-1.

Let us know your thoughts
This content requires the latest Adobe Flash Player and a browser with JavaScript enabled. Click here for a free download of the latest Adobe Flash Player.

Express Poll

Do you support the walkout action of the Opposition members during the debate of the no confidence motion against Dr Keith Rowley?

  • Yes
  • No


More Weather