Triumph on top

Triumph Sports Club were crowned Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board (TTCB) East Zone Toyota Twenty20 champions after defeating Agents Sports by nine wickets in the final, at UTT Ground, O’Meara Road, Arima, on the weekend.

Triumph won the toss and elected to bowl first, restricting Agents to 92 for six in their 20 overs.

Triumph took control of the game in the sixth over when T&T visual impaired captain Jennson Poyah accounted for two run outs. Agents slipped to 29 for two in seven overs.

Antony Rampersad top-scored for Agents with 17, while Patrick Thom and Orin James got 13 runs each. Triumph’s best bowler was Alex Fredricks, who took two for 12.

In Triumph’s reply, the opening pair of skipper Mark Sankar and Jonathan Narine put on 66 for the first wicket, before Sankar was trapped lbw for 32.

Narine went on to top-score with an unbeaten 38, while Ravendra Singh contributed 15 not out to the cause as Triumph reached 93 for one in 16.3 overs to claim the $20,000 first prize.

Summarised Scores
Agents 92/6 (20 overs) (Antony Rampersad 17, Patrick w 13, Orin James 13; Alex Fredricks 2/12) vs Triumph Sports Club 93/1 (16.3 overs) (Jonathan Narine 38 n.o., Mark Sankar 32, Ravendra Singh 15 n.o.; Orin James 1/21)
—Triumph won by 9 wkts
Let us know your thoughts
This content requires the latest Adobe Flash Player and a browser with JavaScript enabled. Click here for a free download of the latest Adobe Flash Player.

Express Poll

Do you believe Vernella Alleyne- Toppin’s apology for her statement in Parliament that Dr Keith Rowley is a child of rape is genuine?

  • Yes
  • No


More Weather