Monday, February 19, 2018

Velodrome records for Maharaj, Alexander

The records tumbled as fast as the riders could pedal on Wednesday night, as the Trinidad and Tobago Cycling Federation’s (TTCF) National Track Championships continued at Arima Velodrome.

Varun Maharaj, Quincy Alexander, Keiana Lester and Christiane Farah all powered their way to new venue records on a night where T&T’s top riders were batting against the clocks, and each other for spots on the various national teams.

The action started with Bike Smith’s Lester, who stopped the clock at 39.076 seconds for a comfortable win over Kollyn St George (Subway Slipstream; second), whose 39.259 also dipped under the previous mark. Both times were faster than the Elite Women’s version, which was won by Aziza Browne (Arima Wheelers) in 39.999.

Farah, riding unattached, then stepped up to take the three-kilometre individual pursuit in 4:31.806.

Alexander, the powerfully-built Team DPS sprinter, then took to the track and fulfilled his intention of smashing his own record, doing so with a 1:05.473 effort to qualify for the Commonwealth Games in the process. It was his third Elite triumph in that event.

Maharaj (Sonics) then completed the quartet or record breakers with a 4:57.528 ride that that put paid to a 16-year old mark, set by Sheldon Serrao (4:58.000) in 1998. Outstanding and consistent Junior rider Akil Campbell (Sonics) then showed why he has been arguably T&T’s best youth rider for some time, taking the Junior Men’s “kilo” in 1:12.017, more than four seconds ahead of Emmanuel Watson (Madonna Wheelers; 1:16.829) and Nevin Malco (Bike Smith; 1:22.368), who were second and third respectively.

The action continues tonight at the Arima venue with the marquee event of the Championships, the match sprint, from 7 p.m.

The Elite and Junior riders will compete in the Flying 200 for a place in the latter stages of the sprint.


Wednesday’s results:

Elite Men – 4km Individual Pursuit

1. Varun Maharaj 2. Jovian Gomez 3. Gevan Samuel


Elite Men – 4km Individual Pursuit

1. Quincy Alexander (Team DPS) – 1:05.473 2. Justin Roberts (Team DPS) – 1:07.733


Elite Women – 3km Individual Pursuit

1. Christian Farah (Unattached) – 4:31.806


Elite Women – 500m Time Trial

1. Aziza Browne (Arima Wheelers) – 39.999 2. Denese Francis (Arima Wheelers) – 41.111 3. Jodi Goodridge (Arima Wheelers) – 41.200


Junior Women – 500m Time Trial

1. Keiana Lester (Bike Smith) – 39.076 2. Kollyn St George (Slipstream) – 39.259 3. Tenille Campbell (Sonics) – 41.460


Junior Men – 1km Time Trial

1. Akil Campbell (Sonics) – 1:12.017 2. Emmanuel Watson (Madonna Wheelers) – 1:16.829 3. Nevin Malco (Bike Smith) – 1:22.368