Sunday, December 17, 2017

WI women whitewashed in One-day Internationals


West Indies’ women’s cricketers lost to New Zealand by 107 runs in the third and final One-Day International (ODI) allowing the home side to complete a three-nil series win at Bert Sutcliffe Oval, yesterday.

West Indies restricted New Zealand to 221 for eight but a five-wicket haul from teenager Felicity Leydon-Davis shattered the visitors’ efforts to overhaul that total as they folded for 114 in 37.2 overs.

The Caribbean side lost opener Shaquana Quintyne in the fourth over in a shaky start to the 222 run chase.

They relinquished further control by losing seven wickets for 35 runs, plummeting from 45 for one to 80 for eight.

19 year old Leydon-Davis removed the West Indies top order including captain Merissa Aguilleira who was trapped lbw for four.

Opener Natasha McLean was caught for 18 after putting on 39 runs for the second with Shemaine Campbelle who was bowled by Leydon-Davis for a top score of 22 that included four fours.

Leydon-Davis returned to dismiss Tremayne Smart and Vanessa Watts in successive overs after the two had put on a 42 run ninth-wicket stand to push West Indies past 100.

Smart was caught for 11, Watts bowled for 18 while Shanel Daley cracked three fours in a knock of 20.

Leydon-Davis finished with five for 18 while Nicola Browne picked up two for 34.

It was not all smooth sailing for New Zealand who stumbled to 90 for the loss of four wickets after winning the toss and deciding to bat first.

Middle order batter Sarah McGlashan was bowled by Shaquana Quintyne for 25 while opener Sam Curtis was run out for 24.

However Rachel Priest hit seven fours and a six while steadying the innings with a 40-ball 57 that boosted their total past 200 to keep them in the game.

Quintyne and Stacy-Ann King picked up two wickets each while Smartt, Taylor and Watts each grabbed one.

West Indies and New Zealand begin a five match T20 series on Saturday


New Zealand vs West Indies

New Zealand Inns

S Bates c wkpr Aguilleira b Watts 14

S Curtis run out 24

S McGlashan lbw b Quintyne 25

M Green b Taylor 15

K Perkins c wkpr Aguilleira b King 21

N Browne c Munroe b King 22

R Priest† c wkpr Aguilleira b Smartt 57

F Mackay lbw b Quintyne 4

M Nielsen not out 13

FC Leydon-Davis not out 10

Extras (LB3, W9, NB4) 16

Total (8 wickets; 50 overs) 221

Did not bat: HR Huddleston

Wickets at: 30 (Bates), 60 (Curtis), 86 (McGlashan), 90 (Green), 124

(Perkins), 168 (Browne), 195 (Priest), 201 (Mackay)

Bowling: Munroe 10-1-37-0, Watts 10-1- 43-1, Quintyne 9.2-1-39-2,

Smartt 7-0-43-1, Taylor 7-1-19-1, Daley 1.4-0-4- 0, King 5-0-33-2.

West Indies Inns

N McLean c Green b Leydon-Davis 18

S Quintyne run out 1

S Campbelle b Leydon-Davis 22

M Aguilleira lbw Leydon-Davis 4

S Daley c Perkins b Browne 20

S Taylor c †Priest b Browne 9

S King run out 0

C Henry b Mackay 0

T Smartt c McGlashan b Leydon-Davis 11

V Watts c Bates b Leydon-Davis 18

S Munroe not out 0

Extras (B1, LB2, W6, NB2) 11

Total (all out; 37.2 overs) 114

Wickets at: 6 (Quintyne), 45 (McLean), 45 (Campbelle), 60 (Aguilleira), 76

(Daley), 76 (King), 78 (Henry), 80 (Taylor), 112 (Watts), 114 (Smartt)

Bowling:Nielsen 7-3-10-0, Browne 10-0-34-2,Huddleston 5-2-24-0,

Leydon-Davis 8.2-1-18-5, Mackay 7-3-25-1

Results: New Zealand won by 107 runs