Friday, January 19, 2018

WIPA, TTCB still in transfer fee talks

The Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board (TTCB) and the West Indies Players Association (WIPA) are still locked in negotiations over the sharing of the transfer fee the board is supposed to collect for three of its IPL players—Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine and Dwayne Bravo.

First vice-president of the TTCB Dudnath Ramkessoon said this week that discussions are ongoing between the two sides and insisted that they want to settle the matter soon, especially with the Caribbean Twenty20 just around the corner.

The TTCB are supposed to receive US$150,000 for each of the three players from their respective franchises after the players were named in those teams for the Champions League T20 (CLT20).

Pollard represented defending champions Mumbai Indians in the tournament, while Narine lined up with Kolkata Knight Riders. Bravo was due to take the field with Chennai Super Kings, but had to be replaced after picking up a thigh strain during the West Indies' successful ICC T20 World Cup campaign in Sri Lanka.

The issue of the sharing of the transfer fees surfaced on the eve of the T&T team's departure for South Africa for the Champions League T20 early in October.

Ramkessoon said the two sides have not reached an agreement as yet.

"We are hoping that will be settled shortly. The CEOs Michael Hall (WIPA) and Suruj Ragoonath (TTCB) have been communicating and the discussions will continue this week."

While negotiations continue over how to share the transfer fee, the TTCB is still waiting on the funds to actually arrive.

TTCB treasurer Sukesh Maniam said yesterday that the money from the IPL franchises is yet to be credited to the TTCB account but he was confident they would eventually get the money from at least two of the franchises—Mumbai Indians and Kolkata Knight Riders.

He said the TTCB has not received any word from Chennai Super Kings concerning their payment for Bravo.

The 2013 Caribbean T20 takes place in January in Trinidad and St Lucia, with the winners getting the opportunity to represent the region at the lucrative Champions League T20.